Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
Cleveland Chiropractic College of Los Angeles Logo

Cleveland Chiropractic College of Los Angeles

590 North Vermont Avenue
Los Angeles, California, USA, 90004
Phone: N/A
Fax: N/A

Cleveland Chiropractic College of Los Angeles CCCLA closed in August 2011

Steeped in history, yet meeting the challenges of contemporary health care education, the multicampus Cleveland Chiropractic College system, with campuses in beautiful Kansas City and in the international mecca of Los Angeles, has been a leader in providing health care education for over 80 years.

A young profession, chiropractic health care is now entering its second century of existence. In the early years, there were hundreds of schools of chiropractic. Now, the Cleveland Chiropractic Colleges are two of only 16 accredited chiropractic colleges in existence in the United States.

The Cleveland Chiropractic Colleges are the only chiropractic institutions that continue under the leadership of a pioneering family member. Now, the grandson of the founders, Dr. Carl S. Cleveland III, is continuing the tradition as president of the multicampus Cleveland Chiropractic College system. A fifth generation chiropractor, Ashley Cleveland, M.A., D.C., is Assistant Dean of Instruction and faculty member at the Kansas City campus.

The College currently awards three degrees: Doctor of Chiropractic, Bachelor of Science in Human Biology and an Associate of Arts in Biological Sciences. Students pursuing these degrees, as well as students pursuing degrees in other health care professions can take their prerequisite physical and life sciences courses in accelerated, eight-week intervals at the College.

Choosing chiropractic health care as a career will give you a sense of achievement, personal freedom, and, most importantly, the satisfaction of knowing that you are making a difference in the quality of life. Making the decision to pursue your dream of becoming a doctor of chiropractic at one of the Cleveland Chiropractic Colleges is an intelligent choice!

Average Rating: 3 (8 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for Cleveland Chiropractic College of Los Angeles
1 Explore your other options...
by FutureDC
Date posted: (12/31/1969)
My Experience Overall Rating: 1

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 1
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 2
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
I just transferred from CCCLA to another school this past trimester and love my new school. I had the most awful experience at CCCLA. The teachers and staff don't care about their students at CCCLA, and there is always some sort of drama going on with administration or teachers that just adds more stress to the already stressful situation of students trying to pass their heavy load of classes. The grading system is unfair to students, and to challenge any of your classes is an absolute waste of time because they will automatically shoot you down. Also, they are constantly changing their "rules" and not giving students ample time to adjust. In other words, they are not very accommodating to their students at all. Many CCCLA students are transferring out because they are extremely dissatisfied with the school. The school is located in an unsafe neighborhood, and you have to pay for parking, otherwise you park on the street and have to walk by homeless people, druggies, and run the risk of being mugged. As a security measure, they should allow students to park in the main lot for free. My review is solely based on my experience at the Los Angeles campus for 6 trimesters. I don't know much about the Kansas Campus.
Suggestions
- An overhaul of admin, teachers and staff. Some teachers are great, some need to be shown the door. When anyone makes a mistake, they don't take responsibility for it and apologize. They blame the students. - Professionalism is lacking in all aspects. - History taking and physical diagnosis should be taken much earlier. Students would get into the mindset of becoming a doctor earlier in school and take their classes more seriously. It also gives them a chance to refine these skills before clinic. - Stop changing the rules constantly. Remove "must get 70% on final to pass the class" rule, use a points system, and make all the grading the same across the board for all classes. Students shouldn't fail a class if doing well, but just had a bad final. It's a lot of money for students to retake a class for being 1 point away from passing the final, but having an overall passing percentage in a class...so ridiculous, and expensive to retake classes for this reason. - They need to change the way they teach the adjusting classes to be more conducive to how the boards will be testing. - Concentrate on getting students to pass boards. Boards cover important basic skills. Everything else is learned on the job through experience
Overall Opinion
This school had a great reputation in the past, but has gone downhill since I started their program 2 years ago. There is a lot of fixing up to do within this school in order for them to be able to dig themselves out of the hole they have created. I was working my tail off at CCCLA and felt as if I was getting nothing out of it but misery. I am much happier at my new school, and wish I had started the chiropractic program at my new school rather than at CCCLA. I wish that I spent all of my tuition money at my new school where it is well deserved.

2 A very mixed experience
by drnovlamas
Date posted: (12/22/2008)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 3
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
When I attended CCC-LA, beginning in 1982, the school appeared to me be the best choice for me, in Los Angeles, though some weak areas were in evidence in terms of faculty, curriculum, preparation for board exams and a chiropractic career, assistance in recruiting patients in clinic, addressing students learning disabilities and mental health, and general atmosphere of the school and clinic. I found that instructors all too often reflected the "medical model" paradigm, which was a real embarassment. Looking back, I can clearly see that much of my struggle at the school stemmed from my ADD, and clinical depression. These should have been detected and addressed by someone at the school FCOL (for cryin' out loud). The clinic provided no help whatever in providing interns with patients, and the clinic atmosphere could have been more holistic and less coldly clinical. The school did little to prepare us for the "real world" experience of setting up an office and genrally "making it" as a doctor of chiropractic. Most of us had to take an outside course for board exams preparation. Some of our teachers--particularly in chiropractic philosophy--were real academic dinosaurs, and taught us very quaint, and interesting, but largely obsolete material. Not only that, but they were resistant to really vital material, such as the neurological basis for the subluxation...you know, such things as reflex effects, axoplasmic transport, spinal cord torsion, and some overlap with Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), and Applied Kinesiology. I am speaking of a couple of the instructors, understand. Some were downright excellent. Dr. Cynthia Anderson was one of these. I have seen some changes since that time. For some time now, psych. counseling has been available to students. On the other hand, the school dropped a truly excellent biochemistry/nutrition teacher (Dr. K) in the mid-80s, who was vocal about a few issues. Yikes!
Suggestions
Today's chiropractors need solid grounding in science, and also a grounding in the M.D.'s world (despite its limitations and problems), in that we are scientists..and in order to facilitate communication with other primary health care providers. At the same time, we need to exalt in the special realm that is chiropractic (and in the more general alternative/holistic medicine field). At the very least, chiropractic normalizes bodily function, in that the nervous system mediates same (and that the spine plays a central role in the status of the N.S.), and supports the immune system. As D.C.s, we have something terribly valuable, and unique, to contribute. The school needs to insure that its instructors really "know their stuff,"yet are knowledgeable about or, at least, not inimical to solid chiropractic theory and practice. It needs to take an active role in helping clinic interns to recruit patients. It needs to soundly and comprehensively prepare its students and alumni for success in the real world of commerce. A huge proportion of CCC alumni have been working in other fields since graduation. Allison R.(straight-A student, a real performer) was very busy selling real estate in 1995, when I spoke to her. Scandalous!
Overall Opinion
Not bad in some ways, but still needs significant improvement. Suggest the administration work closely with the LACC campus, which is just up the street. What an opportunity! There should also be regular lectures and presentations for the public. CCC-LA must take an active role in the community and do EVERYTHING possible in insure the success of its students and alumni. I would rate this school...a "B-" overall.

5 Great scholarship packages
by ericaf
Date posted: (10/16/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
If a student has above a 3.0 Cleveland offers amazing scholarship packages.
Suggestions
Call the Admissions Office for more details. 323.906.2024
Overall Opinion
Great school, great location, great deal!

5 Everything I Need To Succeed
by tkcassa
Date posted: (10/16/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
CCCLA has given me everything I need to succeed as a Doctor of Chiropractic. The program is designed with how vastly different the student population is. We are exposed to many philosophies, business sauvy and the greatest selection of techniques. The students are encouraged to define themselves as Doctors. The faculty is dedicated to giving 100% everyday. The majority of our instructors do not need to instruct at any school to earn a living. The faculty consists of Doctors of Chiropractic, Medical Doctors and those with their PhD. The have succeeded in life and bring the real world perspective to class with them. I have been very well prepared for the National Boards...I haven't seen anything that I didn't recognize (remember the correct answer---not always lol). I enjoy everyday at CCCLA...my peers are an exception group of individuals from around the world. Our Alumni Association consistanly gives of their time with adjusting workshops, donations to the clinic and the offer to all students to shadow an Alumni in their practice. Our Student Affairs office maintains contact with Alumni to offer such great advantage as outlined. Our program is a physically and mentally demanding one, but there are always programs designed to help keep everything in perspective----you are here to learn and enjoy the process.
Suggestions
You should check out all the CCCLA has to offer.
Overall Opinion
I would make the same decision to attend CCCLA if given the opportunity.

3 You get out what you put in...
by DR GIDEON
Date posted: (07/23/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 3
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 3
I found CCCLA to be a great experience. Every school has some weak points but overall you get a solid education. I currently own a successful chiropractic practice in Torrance, CA and I am also board certified in Applied Kinesiology.
Suggestions
I also feel that this school needs an overhaul with their priorities on who they let in as students and who they hire as teachers. What happened to people becoming chiropractors to help other people... it seems that is lost somewhere in the application and interview process.
Overall Opinion
Overall I think all schools are good, it is just a matter of supplementing your schooling with outside education... Adjusting, techniques, philosophy. There is so much out there just go ask Schofield or Sigafooose.

2 How CCCLA changed my LIFE forever!
by drluke
Date posted: (05/06/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 3
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 2
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 2
My experience at CCCLA was an amazing experience full of challenges. I found that overall there is something distinctley missing from their core curriculum. This lack led my to seek out mentors and teachers outside of school to help me create my vision. This has led me to have one of the most successful practices in los angeles by the beach in pacific palisades.
Suggestions
I would suggest an overhaul of the chiropractic curriculum. Especially aimed at bringing in dynamic educators who have a passion for their chosen fields. Biology, chemistry, technique, or especially chiropractic studies.
Overall Opinion
Overall I think that there is a amazing experience waiting for any student to create but like anything it is what you make of it.

3 Horrible
by chiropks
Date posted: (03/13/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 2
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
I started in the mid 1990's and initially was super excited to participate in everything CCCLA had to offer. I bought everything with CCCLA name on it. After starting the 4th trimester, I soon realized a instructor in the school was down right racist. Dr G. J taught PT 1 and 2 and some other important classes but was a bigot. He asked for respect by names. Many personal occurrences of him belittle students to lift his own "status" but no one dare utter any dismay as that usually cost a repeat in his classes. There usually a great mix of various ethnic groups but we all trying to help one another so there were adhesion amongst classmates. In my year one of my classmate scored a calculated 69.7 total and that was failing mark so he went to Dr.G to ask for leniency, We waited outside for another student to finish his plead (we all know each others score because we know each other in the class). He had a failing score of 67.5 total, He passed Dr. G;s class but my friend had to repeat that class. At another time, we were all waiting for the next class and because it was towards the end of the trimester, a recent transfered student commented by saying she almost had to kiss instructors butt to get any where... Dr. G happened to walk by heard her comment, turn around and say you should! I think it's the type and quality of teachers that brought down this once great school. I loved the basic science classes in the early part of student years. One NOTE: PT1/2 classes,... the trickery questions asked by Dr. G never help us preparing for the National Board exam. Many CCCLA student failed PT board because his teaching. But by failing many students, school's administration promoted him a full tenure??? sick just to think about it.
Suggestions
students in general are trying hard to cope with heavy loads and long hours. Dr. Anderson or Dr. Mayer's classes (DDX and others are hard BUT FAIR!) students gotten a whole lot from them. Dr. GJ's tests are useless in preparing DC's even after he fails student ( one semester, I was told he failed all of the Korean students, that was UNFAIR!!! )(I am not Korean but I feel bad for the students in CCCLA). It is the BAD judgement of admin to promote these type of environment that caused its demise. I understand doors of CCCLA will be shut come Aug/2011 and feel really sad about my school.
Overall Opinion
I love CCCLA and have s very strong bond with many of my teachers. I owe them my success. Dr. Factor, Dr. Anderson, Dr. Calimeg, Dr.(Mr. and Mrs) Mayer, Dr. Hirsch, and many, many basic science, philosophy teachers. I am sorry for CCCLA because of 1 lousy instructor Dr. Glen J, no one from there like him. People stay away from commenting but we all know in our hearts what egotistic maniac the guy is. SAD!!!

3 Cleveland Chiropractic College LA gets the job done
by Dr_Mike
Date posted: (03/12/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 4
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 3
I had not visited any other colleges before deciding to go to CCCLA. When I enrolled in chiropractic college I did not know all the schools were different so I choose this school based primarily on its location. I have no say in retrospect my chiropractic experience in school was great. I was exposed to many talented mentors, and experienced chiropractors thanks to CCCLAs openness to allow outside practicing doctors and lecturers to speak on campus.
Suggestions
It's been several years since I attended CCCLA. I would recommend letting go off all staff that are hostile towards chiropractic or non-supportive of students and their chosen profession. It's hard to believe that colleges sometimes hire individuals that are so negative. I experienced quite a bit of that at CCCLA. Students are usually their own worst enemies so I can't blame all on the faculty.
Overall Opinion
While the neighborhood the school is in is pretty much a dump, the school itself is easily accessible from many LA locations. Don't plan on living in the neighborhood. Technique departments at CCCLA are great. I was glad to get so much technique instruction in school. We learned Gonstead, Diversified, Full Spine, SOT, COX, and others. Cleveland is one of the CORE schools that have had a history in preserving and promoting chiropractic as a separate and distinct science, philosophy and art. I'd attend CCCLA again today.

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.