Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
Life Chiropractic College West Logo

Life Chiropractic College West

25001 Industrial Blvd
Hayward, California, USA, 94545
Phone: (800) 788-4476
Fax: (510) 780-4525
www.lifewest.edu

Life Chiropractic College West Unite With the Future of Health Care
Life Chiropractic College West

You are about to learn of a place that is helping to change the future of health care. Life Chiropractic College West is the global leader in preparing today's doctor of chiropractic to play an ever-increasing role in helping people regain and maintain optimum health.

Two academic programs of study are available: a 12-quarter and 14-quarter curriculum. Transfer students from other chiropractic colleges are assigned to custom or "special" schedules to accommodate credit from another institution. Together, these programs of study allow you complete the four year academic curriculum in as few as three calendar years, or to enjoy flexibility should you want a lighter academic load.

Your education is capped with a year-long internship in the College's Health Center, providing you with clinical experience under the guidance of the faculty. This is complimented by coursework in real-world skills such as establishing a successful practice, effective office management, and community relations.

Our graduates are indeed successful! After five years in practice, our data shows a net income for chiropractors in excess of ,000!

Life Chiropractic College West, which offers a Doctor of Chiropractic degree, is located in the heart of the San Francisco Bay Area. The College provides solid academic and clinical experience, featuring an integrated emphasis on chiropractic philosophy and technique. Students may complete the program in as few as 12 quarters, with extended academic programs of up to 14 quarters available.

Life West students are trained in over 12 different techniques through its core and elective programs. Equipped with a strong background in the sciences, a deep understanding of the chiropractic philosophy, and training in leading techniques, Life graduates become well-prepared for a career in chiropractic health care.

Life West is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council on Chiropractic Education, an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Average Rating: 4 (22 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for Life Chiropractic College West
5 Wonderful School
by subluxfixer
Date posted: (06/08/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
I am in my second quarter now at Life Chiropractic College West and I am very impressed. I am an adult student at 46 years old and have had my share of experiences at schools and in the corporate world. This place is like no other I have ever experienced. The love, connection, cooperation and support exhibited by my peers and the school faculty is top notch. There is a spirit of collaboration here that permeates the entire campus from classmates going above and beyond to contribute to the success of the class to professors that give their all to help you succeed. The program is intense, as a graduate program should be, and as such is challenging and exciting at the same time. The program has a strong emphasis on a balanced education in the science, philosophy and art of chiropractic with rock solid philosophy classes based on the original teachings of the Palmers, lots of technique classes, and a full compliment of science courses, all three of which create a solid foundation in chiropractic. I finally decided to follow my passion and am thrilled I chose Life West as my school.
Suggestions
Keep up the great work Life West!
Overall Opinion
I highly recommend this school to anyone considering a career in chiropractic.

4 Life West is Fabulous!
by Julie Restad
Date posted: (05/30/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 3
I almost went to another school in California, but a great doc redirected me. At that point I had no idea about philosophy and what it meant to my future as a chiropractor. I believe it is the difference in success and failure. Without it you are simply moving bones, and chiropractic is much more than just moving bones. LCCW gave me all the opportunities to become a great doc; lots of technique, philosophy, science and teachers that care about your future. Everyone has the choice to make the best out of their education, and no school can not do it all. I do believe the education on business skills could improve greatly, but that is why there are exterships. When it comes to schools, LCCW is number one in education, philosophy & experience.
Suggestions
My only suggestion would be make the most of your education. It is what YOU want it to be. Attend as many seminars as you can, join as many clubs as possible, and really learn! Don't just learn to take boards, but etch the knowledge in your brain. It is all valuable. Granted, as a chiropractor certain knowledge is more valuable that some but it will all come in handy at some point. Even if it is simply to prove to the public that we chiropractors are genuine doctors, and nothing less. Knowledge is power, eat it up!
Overall Opinion
Life West is a great school, with passion about creating amazing chiropractors...and it does. If you hold up your end of the bargin, LCCW will hold up it's end. You will walk away with a Lasting Purpose: To love, To do, To give, and To serve, Out of abundance.

5 I would do it all over again!
by DrLauren
Date posted: (05/29/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
I had a fantastic experience at Life West. Not only did I have zero trouble passing National Boards and getting licensed, I graduated as a GREAT adjuster and ready to serve people. I've heard lots of complaints about the need for more business classes both at Life West and at other colleges. The thing is, there are several very good business classes offered at Life West. Students just aren't in a place to appreciate them because they're bogged down with the gazillion tests they have to pass and everything else that is chiropractic school. Life West offers a balanced curriculum, more than adequately preparing you to pass your boards, and more importantly, instilling the value of the chiropractic philosophy and the importance of the chiropractic adjustment. Everyone there from the admissions and financial aid departments to instructors to administrators want you to succeed! There is so much support and encouragement, and instructors actually relate all courses to chiropractic and a vitalistic approach to life. Life West students are encouraged to find their own paths, and are given many tools in which to do so. AND I got to live in one of the most amazing parts of the country! Northern California may be expensive, but it's totally worth it.
Suggestions
Life West does a good job of listening to students, faculty and alumni so that when there are problems (which are inevitable), there are usually solutions soon to follow.
Overall Opinion
I would highly recommend Life West to anyone that is looking to become a chiropractor. Life West embodies not only that which the profession was founded on, but also where it's going, without compromising along the way.

5 More than chiropractic, it's life!
by adio923
Date posted: (05/29/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 5
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
Where to begin? First of all, LCCW is among the elite of chiro schools as it offers a multitude of techniques, clubs, and philosophy. Where else can you find a school that advocates that much diversity? Secondly, the rigorous scheduling and long hours studying in the library, coupled with the hours dissecting cadavers really makes you appreciate your fellow peers and unites everyone towards a common goal...graduating! More importantly, however, were the lessons I learned outside of the classroom and clinic that will keep LCCW true in my heart for the rest of my days. I went into school as a person searching for direction, hoping that I could learn enough to help others and to make a decent living doing so. I came out of LCCW with more than I could ask for. Through all the seminars, mission trips, and conversations with fellow peers and teachers, I became a a renewed man....the person I always knew I was, but couldn't seem to be, always falling short of doing this or saying what I wanted to say. I realized that life is all about choices...do you want to follow in the footsteps of the masses to be safe and conservative, thus choosing the well-travelled road or do you want to take the less travelled path in order to discover yourself and your purpose? My mentor once told me, "in order to be, it's up to me." To this day, that statement defines what and who I am. If not for my experience at Life West, I wouldn't be here today writing this review half way across the world from singapore. The bottom line is this: if you want an experience that provides diversity, insight, self-reflection, and growth in both academics and self, choose LCCW. It'll be the best decision you've ever made.
Suggestions
Practicing for a few years now, I can honestly tell you that the reason chiropractors fail is not because of a lack of skills, but for a lack of business training. We aren't taught to run businesses in school...and this applies to every single chiro school...the best advice I would have would be to visit as many offices as you can, then compile the things you liked in those various offices and work on acheiving your goals....don't be afraid to ask questions because how else can you learn if you don't?
Overall Opinion
LCCW all the way! I can't express enough the thanks to all my fellow grads and peers....a few years of school, but a lifetime of memories and friends!

5 Life West. Damn, what a place!
by chiropracticdiva
Date posted: (05/18/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I remember walking through the doors for the first time ever, and that high powered positive energy flowing through the lcccw halls hit me hard, BAM. I had visited other schools, and to be honest, I would go nuts if I had to spend 10+ hours a day for 3 years in those buildings. Life West has so much going on 24/7. I can't even count on my fingers and toes how many kick ass clubs there are, and docs from all over will come and talk at clubs all the time. Every week, numerous chiropractic leaders oozing of knowledge are at Life West, teaching us everything they have to offer (all free too!) The school has such a high variety of techniques to learn and master. LCCW is also very eco friendly. Some students are currently planting a vegetable garden! Pretty sick huh? The teachers are absolutely wonderful and actually TEACH, and CARE about you as a student and a future chiropractor. Everyone at the school is so nice. It's impossible to walk by someone in the hall without them beaming a huge smile at you. Dr. Brain Kelly is the president of the school, and I can't say enough wonderful things about the man. He has a big vision for Life West and is currently driving the school into even bigger and better places. Last, but not least, the philosophy. It's rare to have chiropractic philosophy taught at a chiropractic school these days, believe it or not. But LCCW, of course has some kick ass philosophy. We have a philosophy teacher that will tell us that we are chiropractors and no matter what else we may do, we always adjust. It breaks my heart that other schools aren't as fortunate to have philosophy like that at their school, and that's just the surface of it all. Reading green books is heavily encouraged, and the bookstore sells them! And if you're worried about boards, don't be, you'll do fine! Most of the teachers at Life West actually write the questions for boards anyway. I can't say enough wonderful things about LCCW, so if you want to be a chiropractor, check it out.
Suggestions
I think the clinic needs some work. I can understand the setting and how it operates because they have the CCE breathing down their neck and what not, however only needing to see 10 patients within 6 months and you've "passed" clinic? I think that's a very low standard and doesn't give an accurate representation about what it actually takes to keep your office doors open as DC.
Overall Opinion
If you really want to be a chiropractor, and truly care about people in your heart, want to really have no limits with your chiropractic education, and understand, or want to understand that chiropractic is a triune of science, art, and philosophy, then you'd better go to Life West. Come join our family!

4 Attending Life West
by j m
Date posted: (05/18/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 3
My experience has been that I'm involved and excited and looking forward to every day at school. Where I've seen there is something missing, I've been able to fill it in, by showing up and giving my ideas to create change. Staff, faculty and my peers are open and excited about shifting things up to constantly make it better. In this way, there is a ton of opportunity at the school. The community is a huge part of what makes this a great experience for me, as are the opportunities to create change, including our sustainability council, organic garden that was just planted, and also academically including the electives and course work that are being offered. It's been easy to connect to faculty at office hours, in class, at clubs, and in the halls or at school functions. They are interested and put in time to learn your name, and what you're juiced about. The vision of the school is fairly new, and progressive. One of the manifestations of the vision is an adjunct opportunity weekend called 'Life 101'. It's an intensive game changer, with a goal: helping students and faculty be who they are/want to be now, and make inspiring choices on how to embody these qualities and values now, versus waiting until the time comes and we are graduated and opening practice. They weekend elicited a whole lot more potential from myself, as I got to know the key facilitators including the president of the college and his commitments and dedications to chiropractic via the school and students, staff and faculty. It involves a whole lot more and was profound, community driven, and integrative of us as whole people. This is a really important aspect in becoming a chiropractor, in embodying the change that we want to create and the health and wellness that I want to facilitate for people I connect with, around the world. Another note on being inspired- my classmates are awesome! The school attracts authentically friendly people, including profs who really value sharing the experience.
Suggestions
Overall Opinion
Life is good in chiropractic school - I look forward to the journey, knowing my classmates, that I'm amongst good, kind and integral people in the health and wellness fields.

5 Loving Life West
by swilliams
Date posted: (05/17/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I'm a student and in my last year at Life West. I have learned to much about chiropractic and about myself. People really care and are so passionate to make you a great chiropracTOR! There is so much to be involved with and so many opportunities. We have a guest speaker from the profession every Friday which really helps broaden our view of how to practice, palpation and supervised adjusting labs are available every day starting your first quarter, seminars are in the area every weekend. There is never a shortage of passion or opportunities! The students support each other and are not competitive. We get taught the most techniques out of any other school and the range of techniques really varies from energetic, to structural, to orthogonal, to sports, to pediatrics. Every day I get more and more excited to be a chiropractor.
Suggestions
I would suggest for any prospective student to come visit. It's really important to feel it out. At Life West you become part of the community. If it doesn't vibe with you then you might want to look elsewhere. When you come visit you should expect to be greeted with hugs first and questions later. Also plan to do some sight seeing, the San Fran bay area is pretty sweet and there is always something to do. It's an easy drive or Bart ride into the city.
Overall Opinion
Overall I'm very happy with my education and experience at Life West. I have been given the tools to serve people to the highest potential and that is priceless. It's hard work, and it's totally worth it. This is the place to become a chiropractor.

5 The Breakdown
by bulos09
Date posted: (05/17/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
Here's the deal, I have learned and expanded more than I have ever done at any school or institution in my entire life. Life West really took all of my perceived limitations and propelled me into a new era of possibilities. My life purpose is to help others live their lives beyond their limitations and enjoy the life they deserve. I uncovered this purpose at Life West and it came from the influential professors, friday seminars, and overall atmosphere created by my fellow chiropractic students. Being born and raised in Hawai'i, family is one of the highest values I hold close to me. So living in Hayward, California and spending 4 years in a chiropractic school meant that I had to develop a strong network with family-like values or be traveling home often to fulfill that value. Luckily the Life West environment really develops a family atmosphere and allows learning and growth to be a natural thing. With that, chiropractically Life West has prepared me to best serve my patients, my community, and my profession to the best of my ability. Life West awakened my leadership, communication, and academic skills which I never knew I had. Life West bridged the philosophy, science, and art of chiropractic and allowed me to become effective in all 3 areas. It's exciting to see Life West growing and more inspired future DCs keep pouring into the school.
Suggestions
Here's the breakdown, until you fully engage within the program you will have a sub-par education and that goes for anywhere. What Life West has to offer is far beyond any college can offer in the U.S. It has amazing resources that are untapped by students daily. I know for sure that a persons success is directly proportionate to their commitment to succeed. My suggestions for future chiropractors are to find out your vision and mission in life, connect with people who align with that, and commit to living the life of your dreams. You deserve it.
Overall Opinion
If I could do it all over again I would pick Life West again, go bigger and go harder. If you are looking to make an impact in your community and in people's lives, chiropractic is a noble and powerful way to make a positive difference. Life West gives you the opportunity to really make that happen for yourself and it is up to you to take the challenge.

5 Excellent institution grounded in Science, Art & Philosophy.
by james Evans
Date posted: (05/17/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
I have studied at three Chiropractic Institutions, all for different reasons, not one did i leave because i thought it was bad but each time i got to a new one i was pleasantly surprised. I was thankful for Life West exposure to the entirety of chiropractic and its broad reaching scope.
Suggestions
I would look to streamline the Health centre more in its efficiency so that it runs more like a practice. Not an easy thing to do but worth the challenge. All student Health centres have their problems with many students larding to be excellent chiropractors and for the most part everyone at the college is trying to make it as great a place as possible.
Overall Opinion
Overall i am very impressed. i am fairly critical person with high standards and there is nothing that frustrates me about the place. I love the atmosphere and community, it is easily one of the best i have been in and that is because of the staff and the students. thank you

4 A Place to Thrive
by Silberman
Date posted: (05/17/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 5
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
Life West is the center of our profession at the moment. It is unique. All of the schools will teach you the hard sciences effectively, but Life West dedicates a significant amount of curriculum focused specifically teaching the full spectrum of Techniques in the profession and the core Philosophy of Chiropractic. Every day I learn something new from a student, Doc, or faculty member. I have access to the full spectrum of what is Chiropractic, something I would not have at other institutions. For example, every Friday there is a seminar that is part of the curriculum, where a Doctor from the field comes to speak on a specific topic, from Pediatrics to Legislative Issues to Business Tips to Sustainability to Maximizing your Potential. And the docs that speak are heavy hitters and leaders in our profession, like Dr. John DeMartini who spoke last Friday. I mean, that is part of our curriculum, how cool is that! The Clinic is awesome too, as it is set up to mimic a small business environment giving students the practice they need in benchmarking and managing goals and deliverables.
Suggestions
Chiropractic is unique in that it is a very diverse profession with lots of different and effective techniques. You have access to the whole spectrum here at Life West. Through the Clubs on Campus and Technique Specific classes offered, you will be able to explore and find what techniques and aspects of Chiropractic resonate with you. Life West is the only school that actually has specific classes dedicated to techniques, as opposed to simply touching on a number of techniques in a general technique class. I think there are about 13 classes at the moment that are technique specific, each teaching a specific technique, taught by a DC who is an expert in that specific technique.
Overall Opinion
If Chiropractic is for you, it's a no-brainer. Come to Life West. You will be at the heart of Chiropractic. If you're not sure if Chiropractic is for you, call the Admissions Department. You can speak with a Doc or a student who will be candid and honest about the profession and their experience. Above all, the Admissions Department wants you to make an educated decision and will help you to that effect in any way possible.

4 Well rounded education in a dynamic environment
by chiromovement
Date posted: (05/16/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 2
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 2
I am graduating next quarter and will try to sum up my experience touching on the major points. It is important for me to note that I transferred to this school after spending two quarters up at the school in Oregon. To briefly compare them is difficult so I wont get into it, but I will say you will have a drastically different experience depending on the school you choose, so choose wisely. I say choose lifewest for many different reasons. The primary reason and really the most important reason is for the quality of people you will have in your classrooms. I am from New York, have friends from Spain, Italy and Africa and the diversity of students allows for some really amazing experiences to be shared amongst the student body. Recently, our school started doing weekend retreats every other quarter where students can learn from top chiropractors who fly in from around the world to be with us and help us develop authentically in a fun environment. While on that weekend trip you gain a real deep appreciation for the people you go to school with and become inspired to study full out while in school because you know ultimately it will benefit the people you see when you get out and that is what most of us are here for. At lifewest, we recently had an auditorium built so speakers come every week from all over the world to speak with us about new research, business models and systems(I think we get the best business education I could imagine us getting from highly successful DC's) and other tools to use when we get out into practice. My favorite thing about lifewest are the weekend seminars where we develop our skills and train like true professionals in the science, art & philosophy of chiropractic. Our school is growing every quarter and Im excited to see how things unfold. One thing is clear and that is we have the support and love from a huge portion of the profession. Regardless of which school you attend, study chiropractic, there are so few schools doing so
Suggestions
Overall Opinion
Do your research, talk to alumni and really gain some good experience from chiropractors about which school you should attend. There is no doubt you will find your school by listening to your gut when you hear from different people describing their experiences

5 Amazing Experience
by Chirokid
Date posted: (05/16/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I have had an incredible experience at Life West so far. I jump out of bed excited to go to school because I know the material I will be learning will help me help others. The energy on campus is electrifying and the social environment is really fun and accepting. There are numerous clubs on campus so there is always an opportunity to learn more about a specific technique. The curriculum is challenging but not impossible and there are many people and resources at your disposal. The campus is set up very student friendly with a nap room and an awesome student lounge. Internet access on campus is pretty good and the library is really extensive. School is fun.
Suggestions
Overall Opinion
I HIGHLY recommend Life West for anybody interested in chiropractic school. At Life West you get an incredible science education with numerous opportunities for outside learning seminars and more opportunities to master the art of chiropractic with 13 different adjusting techniques. Most importantly though is you get a profound appreciation of the rich philosophy of chiropractic and a greater appreciation for the occupation.

4 Life West all the way baby!!!!!
by Dr. Juli
Date posted: (05/09/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
Attending Life West was the best decision I ever made. In fact, my first day of school was the very first day I ever stepped foot on the campus (the old one at that!)I grew up surrounded by Life West graduates and it never even crossed my mind that I wouldn't go there. It just made sense, seeing these doctors come out of school with a passion and confidence that was absolute. I knew Life West would be the school for me, and it was. The curriculum, I imagine, was probably similar to that of other colleges. But it was all the extra stuff, the technique clubs, the philosophy all around you all the time, and the people. The instructors were amazing and committed your success at every turn. I definitely graduated with rock solid chiropractic principles, without a doubt.
Suggestions
I would suggest to any prospective students that you make an effort to visit as many different offices as you can. Find an office that you hope to emulate and spend lots of time there learning and absorbing how it's run. Chiropractic school gives you a strong foundaton and but it's still a business and that's where the curriculum fails us accross the board. I don't think chiropractors who graduate from Life West or any other school for that matter, fail because they don't have the skills, I think they fail because they don't know how to run a business.
Overall Opinion
In my opinion, Life West is the best choice for your chiropractic education hands down!!

4 Life-West Rocks!
by drjla
Date posted: (04/27/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
I had a great experience at Life-West. The core fundamentals taught are excellent. LCCW graduates DCs that are sound in chiropractic principles and technique, and are ready to make a difference in the lives of our patients.
Suggestions
Enter to learn, go forth to serve.
Overall Opinion
Given the vast choices in chiropractic education, paying for an education at Life-West is money well spent.

3 LCCW Transfer
by Dr Syd
Date posted: (04/16/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 1
My experience at Life West was a good one. I transferred from Logan (half way through the curriculum). Life West has more of an emphasis on technique. It was supposed to be more philosophically based, but I'm not sure that was true. The CCE pretty much dictates what is taught in the Chiropractic colleges. In comparing LCCW to Logan, I would say that the average student is much more into alternative health. But I'm not sure they are graduating any more philosophically grounded chiropractors than most of the other colleges.
Suggestions
The Bay area is very expensive for the typical student. It was much cheaper to live in the mid west. I think that should be a consideration. Life West was a good school. The skills that are actually going to make you successful upon graduation (adjusting, and being philosophically grounded) are readily available, but you have to go and seek them out outside of your class room education. Like any school, the professors that are teaching there, more often than not, have not, and perhaps could not, make it as chiropractors in the market place. Find a good mentor, someone who is a successful chiropractor TODAY, and ask them where to place their emphasis. Spend lots of time learning the business side of running a practice. That is a major weakness of all chiropractic colleges. Less than successful professors teaching students how to build successful practices leads to predictable results.
Overall Opinion
Life West was a good school. I am not sure I would say it was better or worse than Logan. Having spoken with former classmates, there are people from both schools that have failed and are no longer practicing chiropractic. This is fairly common. Learn how to adjust and run your business. You can do this at any college. Life West being one of them. I had a great time there, loved the Bay Area, and LCCW got me my license. However, they have played little part in my practice success. All of the schools are teaching stuff mandated by the CCE, and when you apply that stuff to the real world, you either struggle in practice, or fail miserably. Overall, I would say that LCCW and Logan are as good as any schools out there. However, that is more of a reflection on the poor quality of education that all of the chiropractic colleges are giving than it is an endorsement of either school. Learn to adjust, run a business,and be philosphically grounded no matter what school you attend. Retain enough info you've been taught by your prof's to get you licensed, and then forget all of it as soon as you can.

2 Quality of Atmosphere Recently Declines
by JohnBaker
Date posted: (03/06/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 2
Techniques: 3
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
My classmates and I have been talking about the new changes with the new president Dr. Brian Kelly that have been taking place slowly throughout the last year or two. We feel like we are part of the Transitional group. Based what we've seen, Dr. Kelly seems like he will be very good for the school financially but at a cost to the students. They boast about their Techniques courses which they have a slightly higher quantity but that is all the school has going for it.
Suggestions
1. Try to keep the students in mind and not make policies to maximize your paycheck. 2. Five courses of Chiropractic Philosophy??? I feel this is unnecessary. Two would suffice.
Overall Opinion
I don't enjoy it. The surrounding area has a pretty high crime rate, and poor condition in general. Although being in California in the bay area is GREAT because you can shadow chiropractors in the area and go to good seminars to learn advanced concepts and techniques. But then again, that doesn't have much to do with this school.

2 Expensive for the Lack of Quality
by DanFer
Date posted: (03/06/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 3
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
Took a school tour. It was nothing like I was told. The atmosphere felt good on the tour but it was just the fake atmosphere given off by the tour guides AKA "sales team". I don't feel like I'm getting my money's worth here and it is expensive! Now I have to deal with transferring and credits are difficult to transfer.
Suggestions
Add some creativity to the program instead of just memorizing facts. That way you can adapt more when new things come up in practice. It's just boring.
Overall Opinion
Very very low.

2 Fake
by M Lassiter
Date posted: (03/06/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 2
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 4
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
I can't believe this school. We just got done talking about the changes that were happening two days ago. And just a moment ago it was pointed out to me that club members and faculty members had given the school inflated stats.
Suggestions
-Unite the school body. -Don't be about sales/attendance because the students aren't fooled that easily.
Overall Opinion
Every day I am here I hate it more. Deceit runs deep. The only way you would enjoy the school is if you believed everything you were fed. Figuratively.

2 There are changes taking place
by kealoha
Date posted: (03/06/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 2
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 4
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 1
When I arrived at this chiropractic college, I discovered that chiropractic was even more than I could ever dream! It is so much more complex and wonderful! There was always sooo much to learn and experience. The school is very philosophy based which I have trouble with because it tries to make up science for everything. All of the graduating students remember the president Sid would always drop his keys to show us how the universe had intelligence. The type of philosophy taught by LCCW is unnecessary because to pass the class, you need to learn redundant words to describe things and there are a couple small errors in the philosophical logic that they use.
Suggestions
In the last year these have happened which I see as sneaky and deceitful-Dropping requirements, increasing tuition, getting attendance up 400% (this next fall quarter), setting unnecessary restrictions on classes, having policies in place to make money, are all unethical. Of course they spin everything in a nice light but it is becoming painfully clear that the new president cares mostly about money.
Overall Opinion
My heart really goes out to the students who are in their 3rd quarter and earlier because I know that quality is starting to become sacrificed. If I had been rating this college two years ago or even one then I would have probably given it a 4/5 or 5/5 but it's not the same anymore.

3 observations, not as a student but as a visitor
by CD
Date posted: (02/28/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 4
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 2
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 1
Suggestions
Overall Opinion
Very enthusiastic campus, location not so hot, but surrounding area has plenty to offer, expensive cost of living, most techniques, strong reputation, solid program.

5 LCCW is turning out true, principled chiropractors
by Brian Petersen
Date posted: (02/11/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
The school a student chooses will be the biggest factor on what type of chiropractor they will be. Will they simply be a musculoskeletal mechanic or will they be a true healer with the principles of the Art, Science and Philosophy of a Chiropractor?
Suggestions
I hope every student considering chiropractic first figures out why they have the desire to become a chiropractor. Is it because they truly love to serve people? Is it because you were mentored by a DC? My hope is that the motivation is not the income that is possible. When you practice true chiropractic, the income is simply the product of services rendered but should not be the motivator. Serving people and changing lives. Teaching a new paradigm to your patients and having an impact on a wellness trend in society should be the motivator. Students will get this philosophy and the techniques to succeed at LCCW.
Overall Opinion
There is no question this school should have a 5 / 5 rating!!! If you are rating the school on student success in national boards, philosophy provided by the school and their support system of successful chiropractors and the amount of technique classes provided to the students... this school gets a 5.

3 Good Education but going through changes.
by kalkid
Date posted: (01/18/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 1
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 5
Location: 2
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 3
I was attracted to the school because they do seem to be very friendly. It seems like a good environment and in most cases it is true. They go out of their way to get people involved in clubs and it is a little more student led which is nice. It is easy to stay motivated because the people in general are more motivated compared to undergrad schools I've been to but this is true of any graduate program. Right now they are attempting to gain more credibility, improve their program and prepare for a drastic increase in school size, which is good. This is causing confusion for a good portion of the students, and they are caught up in following procedures as if they are a school built for 20K students. If you are looking for a small school because you get more personal attention, come back later.
Suggestions
If the school is going to use procedures, they should improve them. It has been obvious that they were making them up as they go or at least getting used to them. Improve research department. I was under the impression that they had an inclined MRI and that they were up with research but it is very void of much research at all.
Overall Opinion
I see potential but the school needs stability in how it is governed. Teachers are very good at explaining concepts. It has a nice philosophy. If you like clubs, it is easy to get involved. Most people would be happy here but don't be afraid to look at other schools.

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.