Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
Logan College of Chiropractic Logo

Logan College of Chiropractic

1851 Schoettler Rd.
Chesterfield, Missouri, USA, 63017
Phone: 800-782-3344
Fax: N/A
www.logan.edu

Logan College of Chiropractic Since 1935, Logan Chiropractic College has been graduating dedicated, successful Doctors of Chiropractic who improve the quality of life and the health of people around the world. Logan College offers its students an excellent curriculum taught by highly qualified faculty, and a state-of-the-art learning environment on a beautiful 112-acre wooded, hilltop campus. The mission of Logan College of Chiropractic is to prepare professionally competent, successful, practicing doctors of chiropractic by setting the standard for teaching and learning.

Logan College, which has more than 7,000 alumni throughout the world, is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education and the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. A non-profit institution, Logan College is led by Dr. George Goodman, president. Policy is set by a 15-member Board of Trustees.

Student interns from Logan College, under the guidance of licensed doctors of chiropractic, provide health care for patients at Logan College Health Centers on the Chesterfield campus as well as seven off-campus satellite health centers. The three clinics in St. Louis County and the two clinics in St. Charles County are fee-for-service facilities. Three Logan clinics in the city of St. Louis are free clinics associated with either the Salvation Army or St. Patrick's Center. The college also operates a part-time clinic at the Jefferson Barracks VA hospital complex in south St. Louis County.

Average Rating: 3 (11 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for Logan College of Chiropractic
1 Logan isn't what the claim to be!!!
by frolic8
Date posted: (10/21/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 1

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 1
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 1
My experience of Logan is that the school is more concerned about how much you are going to pay them and national board scores. A small percentage of the professors will teach you, the rest will give you the information that you need to spend all hours of the night teaching yourself. I really regret ever going to Logan and ever paying 0K for tuition. The Chiropractic field is a good field to go into, but going to Logan is a bad bad choice. Logan isn't the school that they advertise to be and isn't the school that you want to go to if you like teachers that teach. If you like teachers that don't like their jobs and are more focused on grant money then Logan is the school for you. I feel going to Logan was a big mistake and I'm currently looking for another school to transfer to.
Suggestions
Hire professors that can teach on a higher level. Stop making the schools reputation more important than student careers. Treat students like they are individuals and not just a person who owes the school money. Don't give so much power to the professors, have guidelines the professors have to actually stick to so the students don't get black listed for making a complaint.
Overall Opinion
This school is the last school I would recommend. BAD! BAD! VERY BAD! Rip-Off!!!

3 Beware - Not as advertised!
by Steveo
Date posted: (08/14/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 3
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
I am currently completing my first year at Logan. To say my experience has been a dissapointment would be an understatement. I made the decision to attend Logan based upon the self-proclaimed excellence they boast of regarding the educational experience and the instructors to whom Logan so blindly trusts. My advice would be to talk to a current student regarding the school to get a real idea of what the program entails and how things behind the scenes actually work. My personal advice is to not be fooled by the multi-million dollar campus to which your student loan will contribute paying for nor buy into the advertised educational excellence. I have been mostly dissapointed with the instructors who seem to all hate there job along with the students of whom they don't attempt to teach. If you feel you would not be the type of individual to succeed in a "self-study" environment, then I would strongly suggest pursuing other options. Secondly and most dissapointing is the program itself. most Trimesters consist of ridiculous course load (27-34 hours)of which your actual educational benefit is of no concern to the school. Administration is basically concerned about two things: your money and your National Board Scores. I get the feeling if they could- they would have a two week program and weekend seminar for just under 200 grand and pat you on the back and call you Doctor. I can't help but laugh when I hear people compare the program at Logan to that of a creditable M.D. or D.O. program and think they are getting the same education, these individuals are sorely mistaken. You can't possibly retain 28-30 hours of coursework in 20 weeks, that's absurd. My point is not that D.C.'s are inferior to an M.D. or a D.O., there different entities, my point is only that Logan is not doing chiropractic or it's student's any favors by sacrificing education in the effort to make it's program more marketable by advertising a 3 year program-as a general rule in life- shortcuts dont work
Suggestions
Strongly consider your options regarding different schools and how the program is designed. I agree the grass is always greener- any school will have it's shortcomings - but when your an educational institution- education should be your nain objective.
Overall Opinion
I think you understand my opinion.

5 "Logan is amazing" is what I kept hearing from my daughter
by StephBoyd1213
Date posted: (06/01/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
My daughter wants to take over from here, so here is Dr. Laura: Logan College of Chiropractic is truly by far the best experience of my life. I've been interested in this practice, almost, since I remember. My Grandma used to talk about this mysterious man chiropractor that was really a magician. She could go for hours about this man that could take away her chronic back pain within 5min. I really think my grandma had a huge crush on her chiropractic. And so did I lol (I was probably 6-years-old in that period). That's when I decided that I will become "magician" myself (now I know it has nothing to do with magic that we know, or think about when that word is mentioned). I have been practicing for 15 years now, and I can say that Logan gave me, not only the knowledge (and experience that I gained through "working" in their many health centers), but also they provided me with assistance with some of my life decisions, majority of which had nothing to do with the field, and to this day Logan College remains part of my family. There is a good story behind unofficial slogan ("Logan Family"), which now became title of many students' albums from their college life at Logan. Logan College also adopted the name for their photo album of us students taken around the campus. Logan is my second (well, now that I am married), 3rd most favorite home.
Suggestions
My first encounter with Logan was for their event that I think it's called something like "Take a Slice of Logan", or "Slice of Logan", or some variation. In my time, it was an all day event where visitors met with faculty, staff, and current students; had the chance to talk to them all, and also we were given a grand tour. I say grand because I remember, in later years thinking, when every Logan's corner became as familiar to me as if it belong to my home, that the tour they gave us, openly showed us the campus as it was - beautiful, peaceful, lively (very strange combination), and just enlightening. It is hard to explain that feeling if you never been there. Because this is just a suggestion box, my suggestion is to at least go have a picnic there. The place will charm you, and staff, faculty, and students will treat you as if you are really their family.
Overall Opinion
Amazing. Truly amazing in terms of programs, facilities, technology, ever present and very helpful faculty, as well as older generations of Logans that treat younger generations as their young brothers and sisters. I will never forget Meg, my older sister, tutor, and just super-smart, now, woman that was there for me since I landed.

4 Great school if you take advantage of what it has to offer.
by ncchiro
Date posted: (05/21/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 4
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
I am currently in my final stretch at Logan and though its been trying, its been a great experience. As with anything in life you'll get out of the experience what you put into it. You will get burned out if you only do school. Fortunately Logan offers a wide variety of clubs and professional fraternities/sororities that allow you to utilize and practice the things you're taught. Instructors can be tough and come across as if they don't care but if you take the initiative to get to know the instructors, you will see otherwise. I feel funny confident in my abilities as a DOCTOR as I near graduation. I know many other chiropractic students from other schools who would not say the same thing; their philosophy is "fake it til you make it." As with anything you spend 4 years of your life doing, there will be things that annoy you or you don't agree with, but you'll get past those things and grow from them. Negativity spawns negativity and that is what I have experienced from those who have a negative opinion of Logan. Those people who are bitter because they failed a class or were reprimanded for breaking rules. Logan, in my opinion, is a fantastic school
Suggestions
Spend some time at the school visiting, ask students about the school, seek out students who are similar to you and see what their opinion is. It's a pretty small school (<1500) so chances are you'll come across someone you're similar too if you make a point to while you're visiting
Overall Opinion
Its a great school offering a lot of different opportunities. Whether you're philosophy based or highly scientific, you'll find it at Logan. It will be what you make of it.

5 Best decision I ever made
by ChiroThrower
Date posted: (05/14/2009)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 2
I am currently a Tri 2 student with 1 semester of ASP under my belt. I moved my family half way across the country from sunny Florida, where I could have gone to Palmer Florida, to cold St. Louis and I could not be happier with my decision to come to Logan. I look forward to going to class each day. I have found all of my professors well qualified and genuinely vested in my education. The majority of them have been practicing and teaching chiropractic for 30 years or longer. The course load is extremely challenging, but I would expect nothing less from a Doctorate program. I know that when I graduate that I will have been offered all of the tools necessary to make me the best chiropractor that I can be. It is up to me what I do with the information given to me. I have found that the people who complain about their professors, school or chiropractic in general, are lazy and unhappy. They expect everything to be handed to them. It is not chiropractic school's responsibility to give you the equivilant of an MBA degree so you can make millions dollars. If you want an MBA go to Business school. As for me, I am here to learn The Science, Art, and Philosophy of Chiropractic and I know that Logan will provide that knowledge to me.
Suggestions
None
Overall Opinion
I highly recommend that anyone considering going to Chiropractic school to come and visit Logan and see for yourself why it is such a great school.

4 Explore all options
by drkho
Date posted: (04/28/2008)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 4
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I have now been at Logan College for almost three years. My experience is that the school does care a lot about its students. It is just whether or not the students choose to realize it. Yes, we have a gorgeous campus that is attractive to many people. Many students think that the professors are just there to give you information for boards. This isn't completely true. The college does want us to do the best that we can on boards. But most of the professors also have a vast knowledge of the subject they are teaching and will give you all they can... if you are willing to listen. The other posts on here saying that the profs aren't good are probably the students who chose not to attend all of their classes or who are highly unmotivated themselves to learn. the course load of 28-36 credit hours a week is quite a bit, but I would expect any Doctor to be able to handle stress like that. Med school isn't any easier and we are taught from the same books as they are. Logan is doing its best to help better our education. And the classes that some may see as pointless and completely disregard as important may be the one to cost that particular doctor his/her license some day. If it wasn't an important class, the CCE wouldn't require it. Logan gives many opportunities to take extra elective classes as once you get into trimester 7 of 10. They also have a great post graduate department and the opportunity to get a masters in sports and rehab as well as your MBA concurrently with your DC degree. It all depends on how motivated you are and how you want to eventually run your practice. Finally to make it through, you definitely need to learn time management skills. Its something you just have to do with the load that we take. Logan is a lot of information packed into a short amount of time. They give us the tools we need as long as you are willing to do something with them.
Suggestions
To any prospective student. Do your homework. Look at all schools and see what you want to get out of the school. Curriculum should be a major factor in your decision, but also look at cost, safety of the neighborhood the school is in, and whether or not the school is a good fit for you. You have to be comfortable there because you will be spending a lot of time there.
Overall Opinion
Personally, I love Logan. There are times that I get frustrated with the school, but all in all, I wouldn't trade to go to a different school if I had to do it all over again. And I would go back and do it again if I had to.

3 Logan provided me with the basic knowledge to succeed.
by DrBill1967
Date posted: (03/30/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 4
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 2
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 4
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
My experience started with a Logan Grad who helped me in undergraduate school get better from a serious disc problem. I visited some of the other schools but felt Logan was the best choice for me. I felt the teachers were knowledgeable and helpful. Some of the basic science professors were distant but hey knew their subject. Logan is a middle of the road school with mixers and straights . Their were plenty of opportunities to get involved in either camp w the clubs and fraternities which were on campus. My experience as a Delt helped me to get ready for the real world of taking care of patients. I learned how to adjust quickly and tried to get my hands on as many spines as possible. Although diversified is the dominant technique taught there most of the major techniques were taught as electives in tri. 7 thru 10. Practice graduates the real Chiropractor. If you don't care about people and have a firm grasp on how to unsubluxate them you will find practice unrewarding and difficult. Those that fail in practice have problems in these areas.
Suggestions
Logan is a good school but no matter what school you go to surround yourself with students who are into Chiropractic. The people who were fighting to get an A in every subject were the same people that for the most part didn't understand Chiropractic. I doubt those people are practicing today. I enjoy a patient referral based practice where people really get the benefits of Chiropractic. I work 24 hours a week, own my own office condo and really love what I do. You may want to check out Life or Sherman but overall Logan prepared me well because I knew to seek out Chiropractic while I was there.
Overall Opinion
You will like Logan if you get involved with the right groups of students. The clinic allows you to get your numbers quickly but you have to know how to adjust and care about people. I was president of the philosophy club and was constantly up on the 3rd floor trying to get he okay for speakers to come in and talk about Chiropractic which the administration was always suspect of but once you got into clinic they let you move the bone and tell the story and actually encouraged it.

2 Do not waste your time or money!
by shepso
Date posted: (03/15/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 3
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 1
We attended Logan from 2004-2008. They spend most of their money on the lure and beautification of the school. You don't know until you've already finished. My class sat in the same room for all 3 years. The curriculum was tough and the training great. I passed all my classes as projected as well as the national exams. I graduated and was so excited to be able to provide for my family and pay back my student loans. It is extremely difficult to make a viable living in chiropractic. Don't be fooled.
Suggestions
Save your money and time and choose a career that will at the very least pay your bills upon graduation. Most of the world views my Logan Doctorate as nothing and my BS from Logan as nothing. I can't even get a teaching job at a community college or technical training school! The education is great but unfortunately not seen as so by the reality outside Logan's campus! Get a Masters and PHD or MD or DPT instead! Trust me.
Overall Opinion
I love chiropractic. It is NOT easy getting and keeping patients no matter how good you are because the public views are so that they value a new DVD, or a case of Diet Coke to a chiropractic adjustment. Simply put, they won't come once the pain is gone! It's like pulling teeth! Worse, the schools pop our 3 loads of new chiros a year preyed on by coaches, and vendors who want to take advantage of your ignorance to this fact. You throw so much money in their direction that most go out of business. 80% default rate or higher now on student loans. Houston, we have a problem! Stay out of chiropractic unless you have a dad or uncle or well established pal to hand you over a thriving clinic.

2 Think Very Careful About This Decision
by chirodoc
Date posted: (02/21/2009)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 2
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
Let me start by saying that the path I've taken in chiropractic is due in great part to attending Logan College. I do not regret going there, although I cannot say I'd do it all over again. I chose this school because I am from St Louis, so it's close. I didn't have any desire to move away from friends/family. If you know absolutely nothing about the chiropractic profession, Logan's a great school. They target students who pick chiropractic as a career for all the wrong reasons. I would never enroll in dental school without having been to a dentist before, but at Logan, as bizarre as this may seem, I met dozens of students on campus who, prior to attending, had never been adjusted in their entire life. Somehow, someway, they were enticed (lured?) into the program. Lucky for me, I knew a thing or two about the profession, and understood the philosophical differences amongst chiropractors from Day-1. As for the curriculum - it will prepare you for national boards - no doubt about it. As for adjusting techniques - they claim to represent a wide variety of techniques, but they're kidding themselves. This is a "Diversified" dominated school. They offer a few electives, but when we attempted to perform these techniques/protocols in clinic, we were hassled by clinicians. If you made waves, you were in for a very bumpy ride. As for instructors - on the surface, they'll sell you on "the chiropractor for the Rams and Cardinals teaches here" - but that is not a job that was earned. He pays for that, like any form of advertising. Professional athletes seek care elsewhere. In reality, you will be taught by teachers who do not practice chiropractic [successfully]. If they practice at all, they are not pillars of financial success. Many do not practice at all - which is fine to me if they choose to teach over clinical practice. What I don't like, however, is that they make themselves out to be gurus, when clearly they are not. Some JUST graduated! (Con
Suggestions
There are a FEW successful instructors, but collectively, the teachers at Logan aren't financially successful whatsoever. Our president, at the time, was George Goodman. He made absolutely no efforts to connect with students. Not once did he speak to me, or 99% of the other students during our education. At other schools like Life West, Sherman, and Life University, college presidents befriend students. Today, they share their email addresses, Twitter accounts, etc. Dr. Goodman cared about ONE thing, and one thing only: Money. He who made the fattest donations is he who dictates the direction of the school. Case in point: Pro-Adjuster & Bio-Freeze. Look around the campus and you will see money talks and bullsh*t walks. Logan also does not allow ALL national organizations to have a voice on campus. The ACA was the only group acknowledged by the school. The ICA and WCA were silenced - I wonder why...? You will also notice that 20-30% of the people who start with in Tri-1 will not be graduating with you after Tri-10. They either drop out or fall behind. This speaks of the ultra-lax acceptance policy. I should also mention that you will not be taught how to run a business from this school.
Overall Opinion
Other reviewers may disagree (note they're still students, not practicing yet), but I promise you, you will not gain an ounce of practical, real-world business experience from Logan. Over 30% of my graduating class no longer practices. That is beyond sad. I learned this aspect of the profession on my own. I defy ANY practicing Logan graduate to publicly admit they learned how to run a successful business in chiropractic school. If you want to be a "back cracker" who "specializes" in sports injuries and back pain, Logan is an outstanding institution. You will graduate, get a job as an associate making -60k per year, and be miserable. Oh what fun! If you want to learn the science, art and PHILOSOPHY of Chiropractic (which is key), look elsewhere.

2 Do not waste your valuable money or time
by zippychiro
Date posted: (02/17/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
I went to Logan and I agree with the posts that Logan is only interested in getting your money. The technique classes are taught in a huge auditorium, that consist of your entire class. My class had 100 students. The number of teaching assistants,professors, varied daily between 1 and 5. It is impossible to learn practical technique classes with a student/teacher ratio of 100 students to five "teachers". The teaching at Logan does not prepare the student to work as a practicing chiropractor. The campus is beautiful, but that alone will not pay off your massive amount of student loans. I agree the administration only cares about your money and not you the student.
Suggestions
Run away from chiropractic and in particular Logan or you will end up like others with degrees from Logan, massive debt, and no job to re-pay your loans and bad credit. Go into any other field, get a "real" education. Not one dependent on studying from previous exams, as they do at Logan. That is if you have "friends" that will sell or give you the old exams, which are readily available on campus. Education consists of learning the material and knowledge, not memorizing old pathology exams, because the material is not adequately taught. This goes on in all of the classes, not just pathology. Bio-chemistry, pathology, cell biology, histology, and on and on not adequately taught, just rely on the old exams, known as "ponies' to all of the students.
Overall Opinion
Run don't walk from chiropractic, Chesterfield Missouri, and inferior chiropractic education.

5 A Great Place To Learn the Science and Art of Chiropractic
by CNubel
Date posted: (02/08/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I am currently a few months from graduation and I couldnít be happier with the education Iíve received at Logan. Not only have I been trained by some of the top Chiropractic educators in the business, but I have also been exposed to the business knowledge I will need to succeed after graduation. St. Louis is a great city and there is plenty to do when you are not studying. And I donít worry about passing boards. Each time Iíve taken the board exams; I have been prepared and have passed them easily.
Suggestions
I suggest you visit Logan if you are looking for a Chiropractic education. They have a visitorís weekend called, ďA Slice of LoganĒ several times per year. Itís a great way to meet the faculty and get an idea of what Logan is all about. Call the school from the number listed on their website; www.logan.edu
Overall Opinion
Letís get real. Any education costs a lot of money. Nothing worth doing is going to be cheap. You have to get the best value for your money when you pick a Chiropractic college. I can tell you that I have gotten that at Logan. My money has been well spent and the contacts Iíve made while I was at Logan will aid me when I start my own practice. The facilities here are great and the campus is expanding and more buildings are being added. You need to seriously consider Logan when you are comparing Chiropractic colleges.

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.