Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
National University of Health Sciences Logo

National University of Health Sciences

200 E. Roosevelt Road
Lombard, Illinois, USA, 60148
Phone: 800-826-6285
Fax: N/A

National University of Health Sciences The National Difference
National University of Health Sciences is dedicated to one goal-providing you with the most thorough science-based education possible. As the nation's premier institution in health sciences education, National offers you:

an innovative chiropractic curriculum that results in remarkable pass rates on national board exams and prepares doctor of chiropractic students to practice as first-contact, primary-care physicians;

comprehensive programs in biomedical science, massage therapy, and soon naturopathy;

an outstanding faculty, most of whom are chiropractic, naturopathic, or allopathic physicians or hold doctorate degrees;

extensive hands-on training in diagnosis and treatment;

facilities and clinics that provide you access to advanced technology and a diverse population of patients; and

the opportunity to live and learn in the vibrant community of Lombard, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago. That's the National Difference. Explore what National can do for your future.

Average Rating: 3 (15 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for National University of Health Sciences
5 Get Rational - Go to National
by dariusz
Date posted: (12/13/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 4
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
I had been a licensed health care professional for 15 years, before I had decided to enter the professional Doctor of Chiropractic Medicine Programm at NUHS.
Suggestions
If you would like to graduate as a chiropractic physician, who is capable of working as a first-contact physician in your own practice and also be an equal partner to medical and osteopathic doctors in terms of disscusing different patient cases, go to National university. However, be prepared to study very hard for about 4 years.
Overall Opinion
Great guided discovery curriculum, strict program, preparing the highest competency doctors of chiropractic medicine, who may be able to work in the hospital setting as well as in independent clinics.

1 STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL
by John64
Date posted: (11/11/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 1

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 1
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 1
I am currently a student at NUHS in Lombard, IL. Originally this school seemed like an incredible and worthwhile investment. There philosophy was impressive, the educational curriculum seemed promising and advanced. Everything looked like I had made the right choice. UNTIL, I actually started the program. This school is a big problem. Everything you are promised in terms of education and learning is a complete lie. Not to mention this is one of the most expensive Chiro schools! The faculty - big problem. With few exceptions (1 or 2 professors), they are horrible. If you want to be taught by a professor, don't come here, b/c you have to teach yourself everything. Most professors are pig headed, ignorant, and although they may be great clinicians, are VERY BAD teachers. Administration - not organized, not friendly, don't really care if you know what your doing, as long as their pockets are being filled. Students come last, money comes first. Student Body - like anywhere else, some good, some bad. However, there is a competitive feeling that dominates and not much community feel.
Suggestions
This depends - if you want to be a MSK doc, that practices Chiropractic DO NOT COME HERE. I am in my 7th trimester, and I don't know how to properly diagnose back pain, have no clue about treatment, and don't feel comfortable with my adjusting at all. This program will teach you the philosophy and ideology of how a good chiro would practice (which is great, and thank you for that), but not how to actually carry through with these ideas and turn them into a tangible diagnostic/treatment strategy. If you are looking to practice internal medicine and primary care, and feel that your community will respond to this as a Chiropractor, this school may fit your needs. However, you will get better teachers and curriculum at a DO or MD school.
Overall Opinion
Don't come here frankly. You need to learn the fundamentals of MSK and Chiropractic to practice well, even if you don't want to do primarily MSK. This is not taught here, you will be lost, frustrated and out 0,000-0,000. Go to a different institution, one that is less $, better faculty, more improved student body, hold on to the same "integrative medical" philosophy, go to seminars (which is where you will learn the most important concepts and tools for your practice), get through Chiropractic school and move on with your life. You know what, I think a new school needs to be made, b/c the Chiropractic curriculum in general needs to be improved. An although National is attempting to do this, they are failing miserably. STAY AWAY from this school, I promise you it will be the best thing you have done for yourself, you WILL BE DISAPPOINTED HERE!

1 Waste of 0,000
by KMan
Date posted: (11/11/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 1

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 1
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
I've been keeping a tally of the incidents that have been occurring, to eventually present them to the dean. Then I realized, that wouldn't do much at all except collect dust on the dean's desk! Not to mention, why would the dean of this school share these situations with incoming students, it would clearly drive them away. So I will be fair, and show you, a potential student, trying to make an informed decision about where to spend your time, efforts and financial investment for your Chiropractic career; enjoy: 1. Professor Class Cancellations/No Show - 33x this has happened (I've only been here for 6 trimesters - that is a lot of my $ for nothing) 2. Professor Demeaning a Student/Picking on or making fun of a student - 162x (the faculty is notorious for being an issue at this school) 3. Course Lacking Quality/Organized Notes - to date, there have only been 4 courses out of the 50 or more that we have taken with adequate, legible, organized notes. Our adjusting courses are horrible and there is nothing to reference, no manual, no notes, half the time your handed a sheet of paper with not much description) 5. Facilities Not Working Properly - you can count on about 50/50 for the library printers and online connections. In other words, half the time you can't print, can't use online or something else is wrong with the computers. The labs are awful, very unhealthy to be in, unless you enjoy mold accumulating in your lungs. 6. # of Students Graduating and Feeling Uncomfortable - Every semester a few of my peers and I keep in touch with our friends from other trimesters to track and see how they are performing. We thought it would be a great way to learn from their mistakes and potentially gain some good insight as to what to expect when you graduate. 18/20 that we have spoken with said to transfer before its too late, are looking into other professions, or have simply said they still can't adjust and feel unprepared.
Suggestions
Find a different Chiropractic school with a similar philosophy that actually fulfills their promises.
Overall Opinion
Do not involve yourself with National.

2 DON'T COME HERE
by Unhappy
Date posted: (08/10/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 1
This school is a waste of your time and money for a multitude of reasons and you would be better off elsewhere. Academic from a naturopathic student standpoint: the classes here are challenging and the information is interesting to learn if you have a mind to learn things on your own. The professors here make fun of and denigrate their students at every chance they get. There is a serious lack of disrespect. The notes for classes are extremely disorganized especially for neuroanatomy and you are tested on information that the professors say you aren't responsible to know. This invariably causes multiple students to fail and gains more money for the school. Also a certain instructor who teaches neuroanatomy and histology writes questions that everyone in the class gets wrong and then she yells at the class for "not knowing" the answer. I'm unsure that she ever stopped to think that it was her questions that were wrong since everyone in the class missed that question. About half of the students are on academic probation after the 1st trimester. Student body: Uninspired and lazy. Wants to cheat and do the bare minimum and then get drunk. It feels like high school not a professional school. Financial aid and on campus housing: Ridiculous! The on campus housing is a joke. Recently there was a fire alarm that went off and campus security didn't show until 15 minutes later! There was never an email issued from the housing coordinator about why the alarm went off either. The campus housing is infested with mold and it's way too small for the amount of rent you pay. Administration: rude and aloof. They enact policies without any consideration of the student body. You are required to take "attendance" by signing your name on a sign in sheet every class and if you miss more than 10% of classes you automatically fail no matter how well you are doing in class and now you have to wear your ID constantly. This among other issues is having me looking into a transfer.
Suggestions
The campus is beautiful but very small. Even people in the Dupage county area don't know of NUHS' existence. There are billboards advertising for Loyola and Rush two minutes away from NUHS and the school is too cheap to buy billboard space right next to it. The gym is very small and closed after 9pm. Why can't it stay open 24 hrs? There is a serious lack of food choices on campus so you'll have to eat at boston market next door every day. Also there is no student center where students can just hang out and have fun. The facilities are old and moldy. There is a lack of advertising to get new patients into the whole health clinic and therefore the interns come to classes and beg students to come see them so that they will have someone to practice on. Alumni don't support the school or even go to the NUHS annual homecoming event. This is my 2nd trimester and I personally know 3 students who are or have transferred with a few more including myself considering it. Administration is a money guzzling machine with no interest in the welfare of the students. That is why this school is falling apart. Do yourself a BIG favor and DON'T waste your time applying. There are plenty other schools that are exponentially better.
Overall Opinion
This school has the potential to excel if there were better administration and faculty who actually cared about the students instead of padding their pockets. There have been mulitple times when professors would just not show up to classes, delay answering student emails or neglect to answer crucial student emails entirely! There is so much potential for making a positive mark on the community that it's a shame that NUHS doesn't even try. This school is a major disappointment and I doubt that things will change. As I walk through it's mold filled walls I see it as a matter of time before it will just cease to be.

2 A Promising School that Turned Into a Let Down
by ChiroChiroChiro
Date posted: (07/13/2009)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 4
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 1
After visiting a few chiropractic colleges, I chose National because it was close to home and it seemed like an okay school. I was sadly mistaken. While National has it's good points, the bad out weighed the good, for me anyways. Many of the departments are out of sync making things difficult for knowing what's going on at the school as far as financial aid, certain campus policies, etc. While I only attended a year, I came across only a handful of decent professors. Some of the teachings were so far fetched and practically 'made up' by some professors, that when I spoke of some things I had learned to students from other chiropractic colleges, they laughed. Another thing that was a problem for me was class cancellation. There was one class in particular where the professor would cancel class every Friday. While it's great to have a Friday afternoon off from school, I'm not paying tuition to have a teacher skip school once a week. Not to mention a certain amount of hours of each subject are required to even receive a degree in chiropractic. With the National curriculum, each class only has 2-3 tests every trimester. This is a horrible way of testing because all your knowledge from 6 weeks is crammed into only 50 questions on an exam. Adjusting labs were decent. The professors were very knowledgeable and clubs were a great way to tweak your skills. Fraternity and Sorority were great too because a highly regarded professor would show us adjusting techniques each week. Now that National is opening a campus in Florida, some of the wonderful professors from the Illinois campus are leaving. I'm surprised the CCE even let National open another campus. It was also noticeable that so much money was being put into opening the new school that the current school was lacking necessary equipment to help its students have a better learning experience.
Suggestions
The different areas of the school need to be more in sync with one another which would make the school run easier for everyone. The heads of the departments should take seriously the complaints of students, especially when these complaints could affect the schools accreditation. It would be nice to have tests more than only a few times each term so that better care can be put into learning the material. There is also a handful of unapproachable professors who seem like they don't even like students let alone teaching. The hierarchy could use some work and should take serious consideration to suggestions by the students.
Overall Opinion
Overall, I think National isn't a great school, but it isn't a horrible school either. Maybe the Oriental Medicine program or the Nutrition or Massage Therapy programs are much better but as for chiropractic, I think students would be better off at a different school. One that has the whole package: great teachers, helpful faculty and staff, good accommodations and classrooms and an overall handle on what it means to be an excellent chiropractic college. National should stick to Oriental Medicine and Massage Therapy and leave chiropractic to those school that know what they are doing.

5 Great Experience
by jhpeabody
Date posted: (07/06/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
I graduated 2 years ago and have had some interaction with different professionals in my practice. Nine times out of ten I am met with such positive opinions about my training at NUHS. My friend who went to the school in Texas says most doctors he meets think his training was not great especially the clinics - including the grads. that went there. While I was a student at NUHS, we really worked hard and to get a good grade in most of the classes. I had to work my butt off! But it paid off. The clinic experience was the best and the transition from academics to clinics was the most important for me since that's where it all comes together. Ive heard that isn't the case at some of the other schools. Also I see that now they've introduced integrative care into the clinics which is the way of the future. No other schools that I know of are doing that. The facilities need updating but the education I received was the most important and respected by other medical professionals. We complained about certain things as students but I look back and realize it's the best of the chiropractic schools and I'm so proud to be an alumni.
Suggestions
Don't go by looks and glitzy advertising by some of the schools. Really do your research about the profession before you pick a school. I'm from Oklahoma and could have easily gone closer to home but so glad I didn't!
Overall Opinion
Excellent thorough training The only school that has integrative medicine focus

2 Choose Western States or Logan
by NUHS Grad
Date posted: (06/19/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 2
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
I attended NUHS for two seperate degrees and during my time here I saw the following issues 1) Infestation of the cadaver lab: Imagine if you will as you disect for anatomy observing bug crawling all over the specimen then flying into you mouth or eyes. Yes this happened and took a year of constant complaining and finally threat of outside agency involvement to get fixed. 2) Students constantly disrepected by teaching staff. On more than one occasion I observed professors treat students with such disrespect that they evenually transferred or left school completely. 3)Facilities that are dirty and in disrepair. If you decide to attend here don't be suprised to see cockroaches crawling through the classrooms or see mold growing all over the ceiling tiles that are so dirty they are black (Individuals with allergies are constantly in distress)or see buckets collecting water from a the leaking roof 4) Tech fee of 100.00 per trimester but internet and printers only work about 1/2 the time. Bait and switch: When prospective student are shown the school, they are shown the biochem lab during the anatomy demo rather than the decrepid anatomy lab in which they will spend over a year. 5) Finance. Incompetence does not even begin to explain then level of unprofessional conduct demonstrated by this department. They rather see a student starve than help them procure funds for rent, books, food or emergencies. 6) No support from the administration. The common joke about the President is that the Vice Presidents treat him like a mushroom. They feed him crap and keep him in the dark. He never took a interest in any of the students nor did he ever leave his office. 7. Phase exams. Before you are able to take boards they give you made up exams which they tell you not to study for then when you perform poorly they threaten to make you retake classes you have already passed
Suggestions
If you are considering this school...RECONSIDER. I only stayed because I could not afford to move to Logan or Western States. They will tell you they are the Harvard of Chiropractic Colleges but in reality most of the DC here are ashamed of their profession and would rather be MDs. They treat the students disrepsect and use stundent counsel to placate and pacify the student body on any issues brought up. If you attend here you will graduate on a Thursday which will cause you family to not attend or have to take work off to attend. When asked to move it to Friday or Saturday the President felt his weekends were to important to give up for a graduatiomn ceremony. Alumni like myself will not donate back to the institution and in fact my children if they chose to follow my chosen profession will attend either Western States or Logan. It is in your best and highest interest not to attend this university
Overall Opinion
My overall opinion is that NUHS is dieing a slow death based on the fact that its graduates will not support it or reccomend future students attend. I understand all Universities have problems but NUHS goes to great lengths to destroy the morale and spirit of the individuals who attend there. Please protect your mind body and spirit and choose another place to learn the craft of conservative healing.

4 Toughest Curriculum in Industry
by tdturbo
Date posted: (06/10/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 4
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
After attending CCOM, D.O. school, NCC made that look like high school. Very thorough and complete school. This school is not for the weak minded, it is extremely difficult, demanding and rewarding. It makes you an internal medicine primary care physician that practices Chiropractic.
Suggestions
This is the Harvard of Health Sciences, this includes medical schools. If you want to be a doctor and are not very bright, go to med school, it's much easier and less time. NCC requires 9 yrs of education vs. 8 for medical school. If you can handle it, a degree from National will put you on top of the rest.
Overall Opinion
Excellent, second to none

5 Best Advanced Education in Chiropractic Medicine
by drzekechiro
Date posted: (04/27/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
I recieved my advanced Practice certification through their traveling program. Truly if any school teaches DCs a comprehensive primary care education it is National.
Suggestions
This school will prepare you to be a Doctor which is more comprehensive than just a Chiropractor. To be a good clinician and primary care physician this is the school to attend.
Overall Opinion
An education in Chiropractic Medicine only matched by Western States.

5 Excellent school, most rigorous curriculum, HIGH standards
by Rose
Date posted: (03/29/2014)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I graduated last year and I loved every day, every class. It was the hardest most challenging experience in my life, but the knowledge I have gained is incredible! National will push you to the extremes. You will be expected to know, understand and be able to apply everything you learn. That's they way it should be... Who would want a DC/ND who isn't extremely knowledgable working on them!
Suggestions
If you are looking for an easy path, this is not it!
Overall Opinion
Small close knit college, educated and approachable faculty, expensive but it is a worthwhile investment. Anyone who does not apply themselves fully and dedicate their lives to this program will not succeed.

2 HORRIBLE SCHOOL
by medstjean
Date posted: (03/23/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 1
I am currently a student at this school, studying to become a Doctor of Chiropractic Medicine. At first, National seemed amazing,the curriculum was intense, we were going to learn so much, etc. At this point, I am disgusted with this school. There are a few amazing teachers, the majority however, are horrible! Some don't teach, others don't show up for class and there are a bunch you simply can't understand. You will end up teaching yourself everything if you want to be a good doc. Everything is taught like undergrad, you have to regurgitate info, never mind learn it - waste of time. Prior to becoming a student at National, I was at Life West in Cali. In 1 semester at Life I felt more comfortable with the spine, palpation and manipulation that I do in 5 semesters at National. The worst part is that you can still pass these classes without knowing what your doing. You would think your tuition expenses would be put towards good teachers, good notes, resources and help when you need it. Not the case, half of the professors notes are extremely poor and make no sense. It is a joke in the student body how much we are not learning - this in my opinion is just sad.
Suggestions
If you can, go elsewhere! I would have transferred a long time ago if I wasn't so far into the program. I really don't like to say this, because there are great things about this school, don't think there isn't. But, for your money and time, go somewhere else, you'll be a better doctor when you get out.
Overall Opinion
NOT A GOOD SCHOOL....oh yea and the study body sucks! Your not surrounded by a bunch of ambitious people, its more like high school or college where all everyone wants to do is the bare minimum and then go get drunk....

5 National -- where you learn to Dx and Tx the WHOLE body
by chirogal
Date posted: (03/13/2008)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
Chiropractic is a 2nd career for me and having worked in the healthcare industry in my "former life" I can tell you that this school isn't perfect, could be improved, but is 2nd to NONE in the preparation of chiropractic physicians rather than just chiropractic technicians. We understand the relationship that the nervous system has on the rest of the body as well as reverse. Sometimes it's not just a matter of fixing the nervous system. Knowing the difference and when our allopathic counterparts are needed is part of what makes us good doctors.
Suggestions
The school needs morale work as well as vertical and horizontal alignment in the curriculum to identify areas of overlap and potential areas of "thinness".
Overall Opinion
For an education that prompts comments from other healthcare professionals like, "I can trust that these doctors know what they are doing when that isn't the case with some of the other schools." and that we are respected in our hospital rotations -- then come to National.

2 Strong program, but be ready to be broken down along the way
by CD
Date posted: (02/28/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 2
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 2
This school is going through some hard times. In the first 2yrs nearly 40% of the students are on academic probation, and overall there is about a 20% attrition rate. Moreover the school is falling apart (outdated technology, insufficient services, bathrooms broken). If you have not been a premed major, be ready for "Nasty Nate" (anatomy instructor, nicknamed by another professor) to make his class unnecessarily difficult. This is compounded by Dr Darby who is lacking interest in teaching histology and therefore only shows up 2/3 of the classroom hours that students have paid for. Tutors are overwhelmed by most of the students showing up nearly every time they meet. But these tutors are there to help answer questions not substitute teach for the neglectful instructors. People say it gets better and certainly there is a marked difference in the vitality, support and enthusiasm of the instructors once on the clinical side of the program. Although, the clinic at National is falling apart (old equipment, mold throughout the facility, heating/ventilation issues). Unfortunately, the faculty and the administration are not well connected. The president of the school is aloof and not at all resonating with the students. the dean of the chiropractic program is not liked by the students and not supported by the faculty due to his autocratic and disrespectful manner. Although the faculty are clearly quite bright and have a wealth of knowledge, unfortunately this is no indicator of how good or bad they are as an instructor. In many cases they have never been trained to teach (this could be true at any school). The education here is squarely on your shoulders and don't expect much if any assistance from faculty.
Suggestions
The school needs more funding so it can secure its future and pay for better instructors. Major work to build stronger relationships between the administration, faculty, staff and students for it is sorely lacking. Instructors should be trained to teach. Respect should be paramount and granted to everyone whether you are a student or work for the school. There really needs to be a cafeteria not just vending machines. And there needs to be places where students can hang out, not only the library where the lights buzz as though you are under a mosquito lamp.
Overall Opinion
While students leave here being well educated, it required unnecessarily being broken down. There is a major dearth of cohesion and support at this school. Few people seem to really like being there, they are rather putting up with it and biding their time. Although you could leave here with a great deal of knowledge, it begs the question as to whether you are cramming in as much information as possible only to vomit it on an exam and then to promptly forget most of it so you can cram for the next. If I were to do it all over again, I wish I had researched other schools more. Certainly I would have given National a pass had I known how much better many other programs are.

5 Best School Bar None
by DrT
Date posted: (02/23/2008)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
Excellent
Suggestions
Get student loans
Overall Opinion
This is the research arm of the profession

5 Naturopathic program second to NONE
by Britc
Date posted: (01/07/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
I am a student at National, and I have to say that most of the negative reviews sound like they are from students who want their hand to be held throughout the program and need someone to explain everything to them without having to learn a thing on their own. Sorry folks, the only issue causing that is the fact that you are not cut out for graduate school, let alone medical school. When you are a medical student, you are expected to go home and continue learning...on your own! What a concept! If you can't do that, then you cannot be a doctor. Period. That said, ALL the professors I've had have been 100% willing to explain any detail I haven't understood when doing that reading at home during their plentiful office hours. Not one of them has EVER "made fun of" or "denigrate" a single student in my presence, and the person who said they all do must've been rubbed the wrong way by one professor themselves, or had an instructor I haven't that is some kind of arrogant jerk. Who, I don't know. I've been here for 3years and haven't heard of this phantom jerk professor. National's curriculum is HARD. You will spend ALL your spare time studying, as you would if you were going for your MD, and this is what will make you into a better doctor than the students coming from places like Western. It's always irritating when I hear people complaining that National is "too hard", that the teachers test on material they didn't say would be on the test, etc, etc- all that means is that they were expecting an easy ride where they could go to class, absorb some information, go home and watch tv. Sorry, they don't hand out doctorates to those people. You will have to work incredibly hard, much of the time BY YOURSELF if you want your ND or DC. Whining about the workload or the professors just makes you sound like a lazy person who doesn't have what it takes to complete this very rigorous program. The instructors, advisors and staff have all also been exceptionally accommodating to me
Suggestions
I would like to see more instructors put forth an effort to post material and assignments on cygnet. Many professors don't use it at all and it's been incredibly helpful when it is utilized to the fullest extent.
Overall Opinion
I believe National is THE best school in the country to attend if you want to be taken seriously as a naturopathic physician or chiropractor. The curriculum is identical to any traditional medical school you can find, with a multitude of specialized courses on top of that, so yes it is a ton of work, but you will come out of it as informed- or more so- than any MD grad you'll find, and THAT is what is important, not professors not holding your hand and babying you through all of your classes like they may do in high school or undergrad (although at Northwestern U, where I earned my bachelor's degree, those instructors weren't even willing to do that and their's mirror the attitudes of the instructors at National with the exception that many of National's instructors are far more congenial and accommodating).

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.