Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
Sherman College of Chiropractic Logo

Sherman College of Chiropractic

2020 Springfield Road
Spartanburg, South Carolina, USA, 29316
Phone: 800-849-8771
Fax: 864-599-4860
sherman.edu

Sherman College of Chiropractic There are many professions from which to choose when contemplating a career, but none is more rewarding and fulfilling than straight chiropractic. Once you have made the decision to study at Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic, you can be assured that your future will be as exciting and vital as tomorrow itself.

Chiropractic is a career that puts you in charge of your own future. It is a relatively young profession that abounds in opportunities. Educator, researcher, lecturer, and private or associate practitioner are but some of the directions in which your career in chiropractic may lead.

No matter which professional avenue you choose to follow, your work will influence the lives of others in a positive way. Furthermore, the personal satisfaction that you'll receive for helping individuals achieve a better life expression is something that words alone cannot describe.

Perhaps the greatest gifts one person can give others are an awareness of their potential and the help necessary to realize it. As a straight chiropractor, you will teach your patients and community about the human potential for physical, mental, social and spiritual well-being. You will teach that health is not due to accident or luck, but is the expression of a natural, intentional striving within the body. You will also teach basic health principles which help identify lifestyles and activities that enhance the expression of the body's innate wisdom.

There is a growing need for chiropractors in the U.S. and throughout the world. In addition, chiropractic is becoming more widely accepted as a discipline for maintaining overall health. As more people realize the importance of chiropractic care as it relates to optimal performance and wellness, the demand for Sherman graduates will continue to increase. Sherman College and its graduates will play a leading role in advancing chiropractic philosophy, science and techniques.

According to the U.S. Department of Labor, job prospects for doctors of chiropractic are good and employment of chiropractors is expected to grow "faster than average" in the coming years. Take a closer look at what the U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics says about chiropractic as a career choice by visiting http://stats.bls.gov/oco/ocos071.htm.

When you choose a career in straight chiropractic, you take command of your future, while expressing your concern and compassion for humanity.

Average Rating: 4 (10 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for Sherman College of Chiropractic
5 Sherman college would be my choice!
by johhnykay
Date posted: (08/27/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
I went to Chiropractic college in Australia in the late 1970s and early 1980s.Being a chiropractor from the other side of the world gor you wondering what shiropractic education was like on the other side of the world.The approach back then was to write to each of the colleges and ask for their school catalogue and curriculum.The way the colleges present themselves in their brochures and catalogues was pretty much the way the schools were! Let me explain.There was one college which was big and scientific and they came across as cold and clinical.There was another school trying to be a mix between a medical school and a chiropractic college.These places didnt know me and didnt want to give me the time of day and I figured if you went to one of those types of schools thats how you would have been treated.Then there was Sherman! writing over to this college was a pleasure. They bent over backwards to see that i had all the information I needed,got me in touch with their bookstore and generally oozed help and friendliness.Some years later,i was doing some writing on aspects of chiropractic and who was there to turn to?Good old Sherman (well, the Palmer librarians were good as well).After 25 yrs in practice,I thought it was time to take the trip over to Spartanburg.Met up with the staff, sat in some classes,gave some classes,went to the health centre,went to the historical centre-the Brownhouse.I was sitting having lunch with senior lecturer, Dr John Hart and I said:How is Dr Thom Gelardi?John said: he"s probably at home. I will ring and see if he wants to meet up for lunch.John left after an hour.Rhom and myself chatted for another two hours.My impression.If you want a school that is going to nurture your interest in your career and profession;give you a good philosophical background,make you feel at home, part of a community,part of a team then this is the college for you.
Suggestions
The only suggestion you could make for Sherman is to move to the tropics!I visited in the middle of winter and I think it was about 30 degrees F on the day.The customs people were being extra efficient and picked out my luggage to be opened so I arrived in SC wearing a short sleeved shirt having come up from a stopover in Florida.Someone loaned me a jumper and my luggage arrived the next day.
Overall Opinion
If you are looking for a friendly college,a good staff to student ratio,a balanced curriculum with loads of philosophy and a good portion of the art and science of this profession then this is your place.I am now a chiropractor with over 30 yrs experience.If I were to go to college now which would I attend?Sherman.If I were to recommend a school?Sherman.Am I biased? No, I didnt go to that school.

4 Why I chose Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic
by drew4vols
Date posted: (08/24/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 4
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 2
I chose chiropractic as a profession because I had a close friend that was already enrolled at Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic (SCSC). His enthusiasm about the profession and SCSC was contagious. My major concern about chosing a career as a chiropractor was that could my patients benefit from my care. I researched chiropractic and the benefits to chiropractic care. I was surprised at how dynamic chiropractic has become. I read alot of testimonials from patients under chiropractic care and their life changing experiences while under chiropractic care. To be unbiased, I read alot of the negative things written about chiropractic. After I had done my research, I realized that chiropractic was something that I could do and that I could help alot of people. I was a pre-pharmacy major and have many family members in the medical profession. I would be the first in my family to become a chiropractor and I was concerned about how my family would react toward my decision to become a chiropractor. My family supported my decision. I chose SCSC because of the positive things that my friend had told me and because it was a few hours away from home. The student to teacher ratio was very small in comparison with the larger chiropractic schools. The cost of living was relatively cheap and the weather was relatively mild year round. I would recommend anyone considering a career in chiropractic to do their own research on the profession and on the schools that they are considering attending. Personally, I feel that my education at SCSC is second to none. I profoundly believe that for one to be successful at any school, he or she must be willing to put forth the time and effort to learn. I spent much of my free time during the first year doing homework and studying. If one is willing to make such sacrifices, then he or she will do well at any profession or school of their choice. Do the research and make the best decision for you! Goodluck!
Suggestions
I can't stress the fact enough that one must do the research on deciding on the school for you. You must consider location, cost of living, the student/faculty ratio, and the philosophy of the school. Here at SCSC, the location is great with convenience to the mountains and a few hours drive to the beaches. The weather is mild and we seldom have any snow that remains for more than a day or two per year. If you like snow, then you can drive a few hours to the mountains and ski and enjoy a number of activities. SCSC is a school devoted strongly to the philosophy of "straight" chiropractic. If you want to learn how to adjust the spine and when to adjust, then I recommend SCSC. If you want to learn how to use other modalities and adjust other joints than the spine, then you might want to consider another school. I do recommend that you plan a trip to Spartanburg, SC, and take a tour of SCSC's campus and Health Center. You will have an opportunity to meet with some of the faculty and other students who can give you some insight and help you with any questions that you may have. Take some additional time to check out Spartanburg and nearby Greenville. Remember that you are an hour drive away from Charlotte, NC, and Asheville, NC.
Overall Opinion
My opinion on chiropractic and SCSC has been a work-in-progress. I came to SCSC with very little knowledge of chiropractic. I'd done my research on the profession for a few weeks and chose SCSC soon after. I came from a family with a strong background in medicine. I didn't realize the difference between a "straight" chiropractor and a "mixed" chiropractor. I chose SCSC, not because of its philosophy, but because of its location, cost of living, low student/faculty ratio, and climate. I encourage anyone considering chiropractic as a profession to do your own research and schedule tours of a few of the schools of your choice. Consider what you want your objective to be in deciding a school to attend. If you want to learn about adjusting a subluxated spine, then SCSC will be a great place to attend to become a chiropractor. If you want to adjust joints other than the spine (such as shoulders, knees, elbows, wrists, ankles, etc..) then you may want to choose another school. SCSC is devoted to staying with the philosophy of adjusting the subluxations in the spine. Once again, I am a work-in-progress when it comes to deciding on whether I will be a "straight" chiropractor or "mixed" chiropractor. Both seem to have their pros and con

3 eh
by earthling
Date posted: (08/01/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 2
I graduated from SCSC roughly five years ago. It's a tiny school in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for community outside of the school itself, go somewhere else. The small size of the school makes it impossible not to develop friendships and colleagues with fellow students as well as with teachers and staff. From what I hear, with Schwartzbauer as the current president, the corruption of the school's former leaders has finally ended. The school is now more open to new ideas while still rooted in true chiropractic principles. The non-technique classes are enough to get you through the written board exams. Outside seminars are needed to help get practical experience sooner than 8th quarter. Those of us who did so were fine, those who didn't struggled adjusting patients in the clinic for a good while. Credit to the clinic docs and staff, eventually, everyone comes out knowing how and when to adjust the spine. (I would recommend making clinic a less scary experience for patients by allowing students to get more hands-on experience earlier). I'm in practice now and my patients are thirsty for more research in the chiropractic world. There was virtually no research being done at SCSC when I was there. Not sure about now. The PT issue from what I hear has been resolved - it's about time.
Suggestions
Practice management education needs to improve. How to start and run a business should be included in the curriculum somewhere. As un-fun as it is, billing and coding needs to be addressed. More emphasis should be placed on patient education. Clinic should accept insurance and students should have to learn how to deal with insurance companies, ins. limitations, etc. (even if only using 98940 codes!) Teach how to develop care plans that make sense for patients.
Overall Opinion
Thank you SCSC for holding true to chiropractic and teaching the basics. Thank you to outside seminars for real-world, hands-on experience. Thank you to the first 3 years in practice learning by trial and error about how to run and manage a chiropractic practice as well as the ins and outs of the chiropractic practice world.

3 Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic
by Bhawke
Date posted: (06/02/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 2
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
Overall, my experience has been fair. I have really enjoyed the staff here, who really care, and keep this place alive. To those of you who don't know, Straight means there is no physiotherapy taught at all on campus. There is a course offered by a teacher once a year in the summer for 0. That is not really a big deal, but it is not like they substituted more technique classes. There was more of a emphasis on toggle before they revised the cirriculum two years ago. Toggle is a effective adjusting method, but I felt three toggle classes was overkill. The academic classes(part 1 stuff) were actually pretty good. The neurology classes were hard, but may be the strong point of the lower quarter load. The diagnosis, and lab classes needed for parts 2-3-4 were fairly weak. The x-ray classes were very good, which did help with the diagnosis, on a whole. There is more actual chiropractic philosophy than probably in most other US schools. Technique was limited to parts of Diversified, thompson, gonstead, pierce- but only portions of each. I was surprised and impressed by the Blair elective, which can be utilized as a entire technique. Atlas orthogonal is offered as a elective and a entire technique. The clinic is efficient, but you basically have to wait until the third visit to adjust patients. This is in no way reflects the way I will practice. I did like the emphasis placed on the upper cervical region, even though I will practice the philosophy of Gonstead- foundation up. I really liked the class I had, and we became close, probably closer than most. All of us didn't like the school, but we at least know what we won't be doing in practice.
Suggestions
MORE TECHNIQUE XRAY PATIENTS LESS, USE OTHER METHODS OF ANALSIS. GET MORE INVOLVED IN THE COMMUNITY GET MORE INVOLVED IN THE COMMUNITY BETTER DIAGNOSIS CLASSES- FOR NAT'L BOARDS MORE OR IMPROVED- MARKETING/BUSINESS CLASSES
Overall Opinion
Overall, pretty good. Very lacking in community invovement. The school is virtually unknown in a town of 50,000. Exposed to a fair amount of technique, but it is really up to the student to learn it outside of school.

0 EDUCATION, TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE PAY OFF!
by AN EXPERT
Date posted: (04/02/2014)
My Experience Overall Rating: 0

The Education and Training you can get at Sherman College, but the experience, well you can't read that in a book or buy it at the store! Experience comes from practice, and that's what experience does for me, the patient, it gets me results! I went to a Sherman College graduate, Dr.Gary Kotila in Brandon,Florida, just east of Tampa. Let me say that Sherman College can be proud of its graduates if they are anything like Dr.Kotila!! After a good rain,I get stiff! and the pain, well Dr.Kotila worked wonders on my back after taking x-rays,examining me, questioning me about how I feel then adjusting me,in only a few treatments,I feel like a young man again which I am not! Im 55 and way overweight, a type 2 diabetic, and those nerves can be on end sometimes! it shows who has experience very quickly after you go to a few medical or chiropractic doctors, you can quickly pick out the good ones from the quacks! Dr.Gary Kotila is an expert in the examination, diagnosis,treatment,and adjustment, and he knows how to handle the patient with ease so they don't have any dis-ease!
Suggestions
If Dr. Gary Kotila is any indication of the quality of Chiropractic Physicians that are being educated at Sherman College, the college and its graduates should be very proud, and its gradutes very successful,and to know that they have fellow alumni in the field,in practice, who they maybe able to work with in the future. With the aging population in America,Chiropractors are in demand, and every time it rains out, well the doctor is overwhelmed with appointments! Not for days,or weeks,but for months!
Overall Opinion
America is finally starting to wake up! its about time,would you take a pill with all of those side effects it tells you on TV? NOT ME! When you find a good Chiropractor, you know it,and you keep going back when you need treatment, and when you do, its worth every cent of it!

4 I know...I'm there
by ChiroDocB
Date posted: (03/12/2008)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 3
I am currently enrolled at Sherman and I absolutely love it here. The first year is rather tough...but if it wasn't everyone would be doing it. The class sizes are small which is a good thing because you are a name, not a number. The faculty are caring and will usually go out of their way to help you with any problems that you are experiencing. As with every college Sherman has its short comings but all in all, it has been (so far) a very challenging, and rewarding experience.
Suggestions
Sherman is a philosophy based school with an emphasis on upper cervical subluxation. They do NOT teach any "mixing" classes, so if you want to learn other modalities other than subluxation correction, go elsewhere. The philosophy is alive and "burning" on campus, even though there are some that try to sour everything.
Overall Opinion
My overall opinion is that Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic is THE way to go. As long as your philosophy is strong, your business will thrive. If you lose focus on what chiropractic is really about, you will fall flat on your face.

4 Perfect For The Committed Chiropractic Student
by JaimeFB
Date posted: (03/08/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 4
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 2
I am currently finishing my first year at Sherman College. I have to say that not only am I attaining a stellar education, I am also becoming a part of something bigger than myself. Sherman prides itself in making sure its students feel like part of the family. My fourth quarter class has some of the best people I could ever hope to meet. And I can't wait to see how they develop the profession. On top of that, this is a very grounded place. I don't think I could question why I am here. Sherman keeps me focused on why I love Chiropractic so much. They don't waste anyone's time in dabbling with other professions. Chiropractic is what I have dedicated my life to and Sherman will prepare me to do so.
Suggestions
If you are looking to "find" true chiropractic, Sherman is it. There are no fuzzy views, misconceptions of chiropractic, or other-minded focuses here. If you want to become a stellar and sincerely committed Chiropractor, I have no doubt Sherman will lead you down that path.
Overall Opinion
Like any college, Sherman may not be for everyone. But, like I said previously, I have no doubt that any Chiropracticly-motivated student will succeed in this environment.

5 The Best Chiropractic Education Available.
by DocHolloway
Date posted: (03/05/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
I enrolled at Sherman years ago. As a student I was always supported, educated, and prepared by the wonderful staff to become a successful DC. The number of educational opportunities outside the classroom are numberous and continuous. Tutoring is free for students and a great way for upperclassmen to make money while reinforcing their own knowledge and skills. As a graduate I participate in the Reach Out and Recruit Program because I feel so strongly that Sherman offers the best chiropractic education in the world. I have visited 3 other colleges personally while a student and spent time with students from almost every college in the world. There are many good schools out there but only a handful that will train you for the unique and rewarding experince as a DC. Sherman doesn't get distracted by corporate donations or allow politics to interefere with the mission of bringing chiropractic to the world. No DC program should be easy, and Sherman definately is not easy. It is, however, a welcoming, supportive environment to develop as a professional. The most common complaint I heard from fellow students was that the school didn't teach enough business classes, but I can say from my experience that if you listen, participate and be active in your own education you will find limitless rescourses in the staff and the material in the library. Anyone looking for a spoonfed education that produces technitians rather than doctors should look to one of the "Health Science" colleges and leave the success stories to Sherman. The cost of living and tuition are among the lowest in the country, and the Financial Aid departments keeps working for me even after graduation.
Suggestions
While students can find opportunities to learn in a private practice atmosphere, it would be nice if there were an more organized effort to make this more readily available.
Overall Opinion
Sherman offers the best chiropractic education available with the most family friendly, supportive atmosphere anywhere. I was an active student and, at 8 months out of school, I am now the owner of a patient centered, financially profitable private family practice. I didn't need practice management groups or after school classes on "increasing cashflow." With the education and experiences from Sherman, I don't need any gimmicks or "trick" to success. Sherman's motto is "Focus. Passion. Success." and the are absolutely correct.

4 Update of review, 6 years later
by DrHawke
Date posted: (02/24/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 4
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
So, I reviewed Sherman after graduating, and wanted to give an update 6 years later. I appreciate, more and more, the philosophy that Sherman gave us. I have worked with and for DC's from other schools: Western States, Parker, Logan, Palmer, Texas, Life and have most recently worked for a non-chiro abroad. While some schools have chiropractic history or philosophy, few of them outside of Palmer and Sherman actually "get" chiropractic. It usually takes them joining a practice management group or coach to see how profound our profession actually is (if they ever do at all). It is terrible that so many in this great profession actually want integration into the medical profession. If you want to be integrated into medicine, please become a D.O. and don't bastardize this supreme profession. If you want to do minor surgery, deliver babies, milk prostates and all of the wanna-be-medical stuff some chiros (Medi-practors) do, please go to Western States. If you want to change the paradigm and the health of the world, please go to Sherman. There is a lot of room in between, and a lot of schools in between. After being next to all of these chiropractors, I realized that Sherman grads actually have a really great training in radiology and they set a good foundation for all boards. And all of this is before the curriculum was revised 5 years ago, and made it better. They also give you a good, broad, base of techniques to build upon. I don't think that any student should depend solely on technique in school, and you should take board reviews. On a side note, boards did help prepare me for the real world. I know old school graduates of Palmer Iowa and they only send prospective D.C.'s to Sherman now. These old school chiropractors welcome me in like I am family, and I think that says something about the state of Palmer Chiropractic School. Don't underestimate the WHY behind chiropractic, it will define you as a professional.
Suggestions
My only suggestions would be to do more business classes and have coaches/practice management type training, at least for those people struggling with how to market. The only school that is very good at business is Parker, (or maybe Life East now?) in my opinion. But, these schools are not perfect either, just good at business. I think Sherman has made an effort to become recognized in the community, and I am happy to hear this.
Overall Opinion
I have a very high opinion of Sherman. I appreciate it more and more the longer I am out of school. There is only a couple of schools that I recommend prospects to and Sherman is high on the list. Most of the teachers there, when I attended, were very good. They have a new president, and I am eager to see this school grow. If you need an impressive campus, or a crazy party scene, this school is not for you. If you want to be something other than a chiropractor, look at other professions or schools. Do not pick a school based simply on the fact that it is closest to your home town.

2 Poor College
by pavit
Date posted: (02/15/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 2
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 2
Narrow Minded
Suggestions
Teach more pertinent subject matter. Too focused on own philosophy and not preparing students for real world.
Overall Opinion
I am a graduate but through little help from school. Would not recommend to anyone.

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.