Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
Southern California University of Health Sciences Logo

Southern California University of Health Sciences

16200 E. Amber Valley Drive
Whittier, California, USA, 90604
Phone: 800-221-5222
Fax: 562-947-5724

Southern California University of Health Sciences A century of practice.
Imagine a school where healing has evolved to the point that the alternative is actually the mainstream... where you learn to integrate in an environment with professionals from multiple disciplines... where you receive more hands-on experience than you ever thought possible... where you can become a leader within today's new dynamic world of health care.

You've found it.
As the most scientifically advanced school for chiropractic and acupuncture/oriental medicine, Southern California University of Health Sciences has been developing strong healers for nearly 100 years.

As you step across the threshold of Southern California University of Health Sciences (SCU), envision yourself walking across the stage at graduation to receive your diploma. That diploma signifies a great accomplishment.

Great accomplishments rarely come with ease. SCU will expect you to perform your best while we provide you the best education available in your chosen health care field. From a long tradition of competency-based, problem-oriented education, the ADVANTAGE Program will prepare you for successful practice. No other institution can offer you a program that is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) in either acupuncture or chiropractic education.

The transition to professional status is like a butterfly escaping from a cocoon. Miraculous changes in your knowledge and thinking about health will occur. This will change your lifestyle , outlook and orient you towards natural care that will benefit others. As a primary care provider of health care, you will acquire the necessary knowledge to assume an important responsibility, the health of other persons.

Rewards beyond remuneration await you upon graduation. Yours will be an opportunity for service to your community, your patients, your profession, your family and yourself. These rewards will be related to your successful assimilation of the knowledge, skills and attitudes of a professional health care provider as taught at SCU. Our mission is to prepare you to succeed.

So establish your dream, even now as you prepare to embark upon this marvelous journey. Set your sights on graduation and successful practice beyond, and then work to make your dream come true.

Formerly known as Los Angeles College of Chiropractic

Average Rating: 3 (12 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for Southern California University of Health Sciences
4 Excellent School
by FutureDC
Date posted: (12/31/1969)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 3
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 3
I transferred here from another school this past term, and I am having a much better experience compared to the last school that I went to. The campus is big and green, the teachers and staff are professional, caring and very knowledgeable, and the organization here is unbeatable. After transferring in from a school that had NONE of these characteristics, it's a breath of fresh air for me. They are willing to go out of their way to make sure that their students are successful.
Suggestions
One of the main complaints I hear from students regarding this school is that there is a lack of philosophy and it is too medical based. Personally, I think you can go to seminars and get philosophy. I'm not saying that philosophy is not important...I'm big on philosophy, but the real priority for any chiropractic college is to concentrate on getting students to pass their boards, which is what SCUHS does. Philosophy is held in the heart, and not in the school. If you are passionate about it, it can never be taken away from you no matter what other influences are going on.
Overall Opinion
This school is wonderful, and I am very happy to have transferred here. I would suggest this school to anyone. The curriculum is challenging and you should be ready to work your tail off, but your hard work will pay off here.

5 Read This Before Applying Anywhere Else
by INATE
Date posted: (11/21/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
SCUHS is an excellent school. The teachers are caring, intelligent and supportive. The classes are tough but they are exactly what you need if you are going to treat your patients with the quality care they deserve.
Suggestions
No suggestions............it doesn't get any better than great education, great new president and a nice tan while I'm getting ready to begin my professional life as a Chiropractor!
Overall Opinion
Fantastic experience and I passed my boards with flying colors.

2 Prepared me for boards
by B4Meds
Date posted: (11/10/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 2
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 1
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
SCUHS appeals to those that like to apologize for chiropractic. I respect the people at SCUHS, but believe that they unknowingly are doing chiropractic a grave dis-service. We need more chiropractors that champion wholistic, vitalistic chiropractic philosophy, and not people with an insecurity complex about their profession. People you are around effect you! I saw many of my classmates get so depressed about chiropractic that they dropped out to go do menial labor. Meet the people at the different schools and learn from people you admire.
Suggestions
To pass the boards, SCUHS was excellent. Beautiful weather in S. Cal! To get people well, you must be philosophically based. SCUHS is anti-philosophy. To succeed in business, you must be philosophically based AND a good businessman. SCUHS is more interested in impressing the medical community with quasi-medical knowledge.
Overall Opinion
This school prepares you for the boards. Go to a more chiropractic-centered school.

2 My Experience
by drdaveacosta
Date posted: (11/08/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 3
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 2
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 3
My experience with SCUHS was overall a good one! I had the opportunity to become a doctor because of what I learned there. I'm grateful for that. The school campus is pretty chill, and it makes for a relaxing atmosphere. I passed all of my board exams and am now a practicing chiropractor.
Suggestions
If you decide to attend this school be ready to be challenged like never before. The disection part of the curiculum is awesome. One very important thing that SCUHS lacks, in my opinion is philosophy! I obtained and am currently supplementing my philosophy with people and organizations such as: Reggie Gold, www.subluxation.com Dr. Eric Plasker, Dr. Russ Rosen, and the Dead Chiropractic Society in NewPort Beach California. You will not get strong philosophy at SCUHS. As a chiropractor you need to know excactly what service you offer and how much it is worth. My current status as a chiropractor is: subluxation based. My philosophy is that un-subluxated people function better than subluxated people.
Overall Opinion
Overall opinion is that SCUHS is a good school to teach you how to be a doctor and to pass your board exams but, you need strong philosophy in order to survive in a medically dominant health care climate. Incidently the medical profession makes no sense to me, they cut out organs it seems every chance they get, and they medicate the heck outta people. As a chiropractor you are worth so much! We understand nutrition, exercise, the nervous system and much more. Yes become a chiropractor but dont let the school you choose be your only source of chiropractic. God Bless You in your journey Dr. Dave C. -- Southern California.

2 Read it B4 u go : ((
by Li
Date posted: (10/26/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 4
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 2
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
Well, it was a reputable CMT school till a handful of MD wanna be faculties took over. There are only so few good things about here, and tons of bad exp. Its overwhelming and I do not know where I should start. Doctor Rogers, Tobias, and Lemke are the few faculties that really cared about student learning. Others... I rather not say. Here are a few things you need to be prepared before you decide to come. #1. A handful of teachers cannot speak English well. #2. Some teachers are racially bias (some are currently still teaching, some are not due to lawsuit involvement). #3. Some teachers teaching real class that just graduated last year (now is 2006). #4. A lot of days were self-learning (taught) environment in their Palpation/adjustment classes. Well, sometimes, it can be a good thing because 25% of the time, they teach you the wrong stuff... #5. No entrance exam req. But don't worry, they use ICE exams after 1st year to wash out the students. #6. This place is too much into diagnose. Prob more PES/NMS time here than anywhere else. You may think its a good thing, but 90% of the things you cannot treat. #7. Dr. Wards is gearing this school's student to be "PRIMARY" family physicians, training us for that "IF" day. Well, what if that one day never comes? Maybe we should have more chiropractors in politics before preparing for the big IF. Afterall, I see more news on plans to get rid of chiros than increase our power in CA. #8. Original idea of more medical oriented was nice but... the opposite side of the coin is that LACC will create a bunch of ppl that know their FAB/BioChem/diagnose, and can pass National Boards (at least part 1 and 2), but they cannot adjust well. Welcome to the new era of chiropractics.
Suggestions
There is nothing to suggest because they will not listen to you. The ones (faculty) that are on your side have NO power to help the students. We are paying about 00 per term, thats HIGHER than many other schools. But yet with that kind of tuition, only ladies in financial aid treat you like a person. There are a few teachers in X-rays that will just treat you as if they are paying you. There are a handful of staff that are just too power hungry and making chiropractic more than it is. I am not saying diagnose is not important, but face it... typically ppl go to a car technician to get their car fix because thats what they do best, not to go there just because he has the ability to diagnose how often you drive and talk together. Patient comes to you to get CMT, they dont need to know, you were the king of BioChem. Plus... The ICE is stressing out students and they are always behind in learning. If they really want to elevate their status, they should have entrance exam instead.
Overall Opinion
Its a "nicer" location compared to Cleveland, but its in the middle of no where, nearest Freeway is like 20 min away... APH is 8 units, you cannot transfer to anywhere with that class... If your library book is like 10+min late (I think) they will charge you or for the late charge... Teacher's Assit. have the power to kick you out of the class (program), so don't under estimate them. There are many other things, but I think I should stop here...

3 Good school for what the state of health care is these days
by Fco2004
Date posted: (10/17/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 4
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 2
Location: 2
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 2
I graduated in 2004 during the time when there was quite a bit of stress in ALL the chiropractic schools in the nation. The atmosphere was a bit negative but I think that's because everyone cared so much to complain. Regarding education, I felt that the education aspect of the program was quite good. Diagnosis of conditions, I believe, is more important than treatment because if you misdiagnose, you can't treat appropriately. Diagnosis was a large part of the program at SCUHS. The next most important thing (NOT SAYING IT'S NOT VERY VERY IMPORTANT) is you need to treat well. As a practicing chiropractor now who attends continuing education courses with different doctors from different schools and educational backgrounds, what you learn at SCUHS is pretty much on par with what others use in their practice. You might not learn some things like Applied Kinesiology, but you have enough to start your practice. I would recommend, by the way, that you learn a little bit about AK, Gonstead, and Activator. The cost of education at SCUHS has continued to grow at a very fast pace. Nevertheless, I wouldn't have traded my education for something else. I have heard that nowadays there are new teachers at SCUHS. This may be good or bad. Not sure without experiencing it myself. I do believe philosophy of healthcare is something that should be discussed more deeply at SCUHS. But I do know that doctors in the field each have their own unique philosophy. Every doctor needs to figure that out for themselves so they can clearly communicate with their patients.
Suggestions
Students thinking about going to chiropractic school and practicing as a chiropractor need to not only think about whether they think the field is cool because it's preventative medicine, but also think about whether they want to be a self-employed individual, business owner, and essentially salesperson... someone who knows how to talk about what they do to help people. These are the same struggles that acupuncturists and massage therapists face. As far as SCUHS goes, definitely look into it. My background is in science, so I do appreciate the scientific method that SCUHS takes to chiropractic. I have met many other students at other schools who wish they went to SCUHS. It is a solid program.
Overall Opinion
If you want a program that pushes you hard to do well, SCUHS does it. They prepare you well for Boards... which isn't easy for many. Classmates are competitive... meaning if you are a good student, you can find many others who are also similar. This is a good learning atmosphere. If you come from a science background, SCUHS is good for you. SCUHS focuses on diagnosing, treatment, and science of chiropractic. It teaches you how to practice safely to avoid lawsuits. It's a great building block to have as a new grad. The atmosphere could be better... It should be better in light of all the other positive aspects of the school.

3 Proud of my evidence based education
by chirogirl
Date posted: (09/05/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 4
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 4
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 2
Cost: 2
Overall I am happy I went to SCUHS. I like that they focus on being evidence based and I feel like I got a good education. Passing boards was a piece of cake. The competency exams they make you take before boards help tremendously. The professors are also great.
Suggestions
If you are a philosophy based chiropractor I suggest you go somewhere else. I am not philosophy based and liked the fact that SCU doesn't promote that quackery. Chiropractic philosophy is not evidence based and is not helping our profession-but don't get me started on that. Anyways the education is geared toward creating competent doctors and not "TORS".
Overall Opinion
Overall I feel SCU prepared me for a career as a chiropractic doctor.

4 Glad I went to SCUHS
by dumples4ever
Date posted: (07/22/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 4
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 1
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 2
When I was looking at chiropractic schools I thought I wanted two things- lots of science and none of that "philosophy stuff". SCU delivered on both counts. The funny thing is that as I progressed through school, I slowly saw a need for some philosophy... Not necessarily "chiropractic philosophy" (green books, DD, BJ, DCS), but a more well-rounded approach to answering the question "why do I want to do this?" and "what does chiropractic mean to me?". SCU does not teach philosophy, but honestly if you attend at least one Parker seminar in Vegas (a MUST) then you will be well on your way to answering these questions and being a well-centered chiropractor. The science end of the curriculum was over-all very good. Anatomy, biochemistry, orthopedic and physical exams skills, and nutrition were especially top-notch here. They place a high priority on orthopedic testing, which is great in a pain-based model of chiropractic, but I think this is where other schools will say SCU is relatively non-vitalistic. The reality is that weather you want to run a pain based OR wellness based practice you WILL see people in musculoskelatal pain at some point, so knowing how to properly diagnose them is critical. Also, knowing your orthos really does earn you a lot more street cred. with MDs than trying to explain what a subluxation is.. In recent years, they have really tried to improve their curriculum by allowing students to choose some "selective" classes, which is awesome. They are even starting to offer more chiropractic technique courses- something that SCU was seriously lacking in the past. The one major down-fall to SCU is they really only teach you one way to adjust in the core-classes (diversified), as opposed to many other schools that teach you 9+ core techniques. They are slowly offering more optional classes for other techniques, but in my opinion they should focus more time on the art of adjusting at SCU.
Suggestions
SCU is a great school.. Just try not to get distracted by the beaches and attractions in LA and make sure you go to a few seminars when you get a chance.
Overall Opinion
SCU is not without its quirks and they definitely have room to make some improvements, but overall I was glad to have gone here. As long as you step away from school to attend the occasional seminar (PARKER) and conference and gain a little perspective, SCU is a great place. Added bonus: LA is seminar heaven, so it's super easy to find a class or seminar to go to almost any weekend of the year.

2 THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE
by drdean
Date posted: (06/08/2014)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 1
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 2
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 1
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 2
I went there a long time ago 20 years, hardly anyone from there is practicing anymore. They don't teach you about chiropractic. Just how medicine is superior and make you feel less about yourself.
Suggestions
Stay as far away as possible unless you like to fail
Overall Opinion
I feel sorry for the other docs who graduated there. I myself am doing well because chiropractic saved my life, but the school tried to tell me my miracle of chiropractic wasn't true, because chiropractic cant do that.

4 A Serious Education
by Evanski
Date posted: (03/05/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 4
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Cost: 3
Iím from San Jose originally and lived 15 minutes from Palmer West. My Wife's family lived very close to Life West. I visited Palmer West ~4 times and have a very close friend who graduated there. I also visited Life West as well as SCUHS and Parker (in Texas). Out of all the schools that I visited, SCUHS impressed me the most as being the most dedicated to their education and focused on continued improvements. It has regional accreditation as well as CCE accreditation which means that they had to jump through the same hoops as Stanford, UCLA or any other university. They also have the ADVANTAGE program so their curriculum is integrated (when you study the shoulder in Functional Biomechanics, you are also studying it in Anatomy) which, in my experience, makes things much easier to understand. I heard that they have a "bad rap" for adjusting skills but I figured that I can learn to adjust at seminars any time that I want, but will never get another chance to get such a firm foundation in the sciences; since I have been here (I'm now in my half way through) I realize that hands on time is the most important factor to being a good adjustor, not the number of techniques that you're exposed to. SCUHS has almost twice the lab hours as Cleveland (who prides themselves on their adjusting), yet I've talked to several students from Cleveland who feel that their adjustment skills have suffered because they don't have enough time to master any one technique since they move from one technique to another so quickly. I'm only half way through the education, but I already feel very confident in many aspects of my adjusting (especially with Dr. Faucretís teaching). It is true that philosophy is frowned upon and in some ways the baby is thrown out with the bath water since health, emotion and spirituality are all intertwined -but I don't feel that I need to have classes on Philosophy to know to trust the body and focus holistically -and again if you want it, you can go to seminars.
Suggestions
Spend the time to check out as many different schools as you can before you decide. I decided not to go to Palmer West because they didn't seem as organized and they seemed to have a stagnant-unmotivated attitude. The people at Life West where very nice and I was initially very impressed with the atmosphere, but not at all with the education. Parker seemed pretty good. Each school has different strong points. I can't complain about SCUHS and am glad that I decided to go here, but don't take my word for it. Check it out yourself, and don't let someone scare you away because it doesn't agree with their 'philosophy'. True philosophizing is thinking for yourself and asking questions, not blindly accepting what BJ says as the gospel truth (besides the dude is dead). Other schools that I would look into as well are Palmer Davenport, National University, and New York Chiropractic College. I had no idea that there was such a division in the field over philosophy so be sure to ask both sides about their views and ask questions about things like if you will be able to dissect cadavers, how much lab time you have adjusting, how many techniques they teach, their focus on nutrition, physical therapy, or whatever else you're interested in.
Overall Opinion
SCUHS is for the most part an excellent school (no school is perfect). It's expensive to live here, but the campus is big and in a very safe neighborhood (both Cleveland and Palmer West are a single building setting, Life West and Parker have pretty nice campuses although they are both in rough neighborhoods) and they have an excellent education all the way around.

2 Truth Be Told
by TruthBTold
Date posted: (02/01/2009)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 2
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 2
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 1
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
Since I'm one to be writing about this school my intention is to inform you of my experience. 1. Lack of good philosophy 2. Lack of good business sense 3. Technique taught by amatuers that aren't succeeding in their own businesses. Many of them just coming out of school. 4. Want to be medi-practors, thinking that scientific validity for what you are doing qualifies for "a good chiropractor". 5. Many inflated egos on the administration that aren't there for your education and all that money you spend on your education. You have no voice! So shut up and take it - is their motto. 6. One administrator quoted, "this school is a licensing school, that's all." (Not a higher institution for learning.) The gist...to get you thru boards. Incredibly disappointed at the curriculum, philosophy, and class of people at the school and within the administration.
Suggestions
SCUHS really sucked for me. Do you want to feel disappointed?
Overall Opinion
Find another school. I will not want to donate or even associate with the school being an alumni.

3 I called this school
by Sujata
Date posted: (01/17/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 3

Overall: 3
Housing: 3
Pass rate for National Boards: 3
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 3
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 1
My only experience with this school so far is by phone. One of the program leaders who is a chiropractor said that this school is science and diagnoses based.
Suggestions
She likes this school better than the one she went to. She said that she didn't recommend practicing in California because of the saturation rate.
Overall Opinion
This school seems highly recommended. It is a little bit more expensive than some others. The cost of living is more in California. But you get to be in the sun and the fun.

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.