Chiropractic Schools
Home About Us Contact Us FAQ Sponsors
Planet Chiropractic - Serving Chiropractic Worldwide
Categories
Home  > Chiropractic Schools USA
Western States Chiropractic College Logo

Western States Chiropractic College

2900 NE 132nd Avenue
Portland, Oregon, USA, 97230
Phone: 800-641-5641
Fax: 503-251-5723

Western States Chiropractic College The College
Western States Chiropractic College (WSCC) is a private, coeducational, non-sectarian, non-profit, professional school. The college holds tax exempt status under the provisions of Internal Revenue (IRS) code section 501(c)(3).

The governing body of the college is a board of trustees. The President, selected and appointed by the board, is the chief administrative officer, and is responsible for all administrative and academic affairs of the college.

History of the College- 100 Years of Chiropractic
Chiropractic education was introduced in Portland as early as 1904 when Drs. John and Eva Marsh opened Marshes' School and Cure. In 1909, the college changed its name to Pacific College of Chiropractic.

In 1932 the Pacific Chiropractic College was reorganized and became Western States College. In 1937 the Health Research Foundation was formed as a non-profit organization under which Western States College operated. The College also offered a degree in naturopathy from the mid-thirties through the mid-fifties.

In 1946 the College relocated to southeast Portland, and then, in 1973, moved to its current 22-acre campus in northeast Portland. In 1967 the school's name changed to Western States Chiropractic College.

WSCC has been a pioneer in chiropractic education since its inception. WSCC was the first to set up a four-year course of study; one of the first to be transferred from private ownership to non-profit status; the first to require two years of preprofessional requirements to enroll; one of the first to adopt a curriculum inclusive of all the basic sciences; and the first to be awarded a federal research grant.

Western States Chiropractic Philosophy
The WSCC philosophy of chiropractic is based on the concept that the human body has recuperative, self-healing capabilities, and that there is a correlation between skeletal structure and optimum bodily function. The interdependence of structure and function, and the relationship between the nervous system--particularly the spine--and the rest of the body is the core element of WSCC's approach to healing and wellness. This indicates that the first line of intervention for conservative care is to assure biomechanical integrity, with pharmaceutical and/or more invasive care (e.g., surgery) being utilized only after conservative options have been employed.

Policy of Non-Discrimination
Western States Chiropractic College does not discriminate in any of its programs or activities on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, age, handicap or sexual orientation in admission or access to programs or activities. If you have any questions, please contact the Dean of Enrollment Management.

Established policies and procedures which guide the life of the college are published and available to all interested persons. A complete copy of official policies may be found in the College Administrative Policy Manual, which is available in the library, the deans' offices, and the Office of the Registrar.

Average Rating: 3 (8 votes)

Add Your Review Add Your Rating


Rating Comments for Western States Chiropractic College
4 Great school, with great leadership
by cmnacnud
Date posted: (10/08/2007)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 3
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 2
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 4
Every school has its own problems, I've lived in many places and gone to many schools, one thing that this school has going for it it it's leadership. Dr. Brimhall in particular has brought great change to this school leading it into the future. The curriculum is adequate and the instruction is excellent. If you need help you can get it, and if you just want to learn more, the resources are available to you. They force you to take responsibility by putting it on you to ask for things, but when you do the resources open up all around you. In life if you never ask you will never receive. I enjoyed my time there.
Suggestions
I recommend providing more freedom to students to advertise and learn the business side on their own. You will never learn real business in a classroom, or locked in the clinic, let them go out and do more.
Overall Opinion

5 Excellent School, Paving the future of Chiropractic
by Jkchiro
Date posted: (08/06/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 5

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 5
Practice Management Skills: 5
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 5
Cost: 5
Western States has consistently scored among the highest on the National Board exams. The professors are extremely qualified and bring a scientific and evidence based approach to the curriculum, preparing physicians to implement the most up to date care for their patients. The school is located in Oregon, which has the broadest scope for Chiropractic practice in the US, allowing students to gain many primary care and chiropractic related clinical experiences. The schools leadership is excellent and definitely leads the profession in moving forward. The technique is diversified and gives students the tools they need to successfully move into practice, ensuring quality adjusting skills that work. Numerous opportunities are available as the school and student body works closely with OHSU medical school, National College of Naturopathic Medicine, and OCOM through research, integration, social events, and shared online resources, allowing for a great educational experience.
Suggestions
Overall Opinion

4 Western States Was Right Choice For Me
by DrStephanie
Date posted: (06/11/2011)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 4
Housing: 2
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 3
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 5
Leadership: 4
Techniques: 4
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 3
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 5
I grew up in Ohio and moved out West a few years before going to chiropractic school. I was originally going to go to veterinary medicine school but a car accident led me to my first ever chiropractic experience. You may have read that chiropractic colleges don't compare to medical schools as far as size and funding goes. That's true, but in my experience, the smaller class sizes and campus was preferable. Classes were intense and there's a lot more differential diagnosis and similar coursework than most people realize. Don't let anyone fool you into thinking chiropractic schooling is easy.
Suggestions
I would have liked to have more practice related coursework and business related courses. Those things are essential for any chiropractor planning on running their own business. There was a heavy emphasis on what not to do in case of treating people with severe medical conditions. What's taught in school is contrary to what I've seen in practice. I know why they do it but there should be a greater emphasis on what to do chiropractic wise when it comes to providing services to those with other than neck or low back pain.
Overall Opinion
I'd do it again but I'd spend less money while in school. Don't let those student loans pile up and keep the debt to a minimum. My first 3 years were tough (learning the business side) but it's been a joy ever since. Even the bad times don't seem so bad now, more like required knocks in the head to get myself straight.

4 Awesome College
by kleungl
Date posted: (04/26/2006)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 5
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 3
Techniques: 5
Location: 5
Atmosphere: 4
Philosophy: 4
Cost: 1
College was great. The new president has made a good impression.
Suggestions
Teach more business side of things. Don't let interns sit there and play video games
Overall Opinion

1 Don't Ruin your life!
by Chris
Date posted: (04/23/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 1

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 1
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 1
Classroom size: 1
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 1
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
This school is nothing but a fantasy land telling you how magical and wonderful chiropractic will be as a career. Nothing could be further from the truth! You will graduate and find you are despised by all other physicians, including other chiropractors. Forget trying to get a job as an "associate" with another chiropractor. They will pay you minimum wage and say you should be paying them for the experience you are getting. Forget trying to open your own practice. It will cost at least 0,000.00 to open your doors. Good luck finding patients with a chiropractor on every corner begging for patients. Try treating auto accident patients and you will have sleazy lawyers dictating your every move. Chiropractic sucks big time and will ruin your life! This school just wants your tuition money and will never tell you what it is really like out there in the real world.
Suggestions
This choice of school and career would be the worst mistake of your life and you will live to regret it every day of your life. You will live in poverty, and will have wasted four years of hard work and money spent on this school.
Overall Opinion
Go to get a degree in Physical Therapy, Pharmacy, Nursing or Medicine if you want to be in a health care profession where you will get respect, and be compensated well for your education and service. Be warned. I have graduated from this school. My life, as well as hundreds of other chiropractors I have known, has been a living hell ever since. This is the absolute worst choice you could make!

1 Tragedy
by student
Date posted: (03/18/2013)
My Experience Overall Rating: 1

Overall: 1
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 2
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 1
Financial Aid Department: 2
Classroom size: 3
Leadership: 1
Techniques: 1
Location: 3
Atmosphere: 1
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
The school is concerned more about keeping clubs such as the Gay and lesbian and crossfit then with useful clubs such as Graston or others that are geared more towards what we are learning. Several of the teaching staff are more concerned with wearing short skirts and mispronouncing pertinent vocabulary than with knowing the subject matter. Beware of instructors with such degrees as "Naturopath" only. The school is a very big dissapointment. This is a commuter college.
Suggestions
Concentrate on board review preparation; currently it is non existent. Screen prospective instructors; for Christ sakes at least know the vocabulary. Terminate the mediocre instructors.
Overall Opinion
Overall I would rate it a C--

4 The Best Chiropractic School
by jinaville
Date posted: (01/26/2012)
My Experience Overall Rating: 4

Overall: 5
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 5
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 5
Research Department: 3
Practice Management Skills: 3
Financial Aid Department: 5
Classroom size: 5
Techniques: 5
Location: 4
Atmosphere: 5
Philosophy: 3
Cost: 3
I started out my chiropractic training at Western States Chiropractic College. They have a first rate curriculum, excellent professors, great chiropractic labs. I passed my first boards with hardly any studying. The clinical staff was first notch. The start you out with Diversified technique early on. Their emphasis on biomechanics and kinesiology allows you to understand adjusting fully. The school provides tutors if you feel you need help with any subject (I used to be a biochemistry tutor) before your grades take a hit. The examinations are hard, but their class outlines and guides should allow you to pass them. Do not underestimate the professors ability to be demanding. They will give you excellent summaries and just about everything you need to know for the test, but they will twists concepts around with their multiple multiple questions in tests to make sure that you know them. The National Boards are a breeze in comparison. If you want excellent grades, you'll have to eat, breathe and sweat basic science and chiropractic technique. This school has a clear vision of what a chiropractor should be. It makes you familiar with medications, but it also makes you an expert at discerning when you should be refer your patient to an MD and further testing. The physical plant has improved since I left. That was their weakest point. However, it was more than adequate. The campus is nestled within a neighborhood which is surrounded by beautiful Portland nature. Unfortunately, I got too homesick for Chicago and my relationship was strained because of coming to Portland. I made the worst mistake of my life at leaving WSCC (how it was known then).
Suggestions
Keep improving the physical plant to attract more student. Is it absolutely necessary? Not really. Maybe allow more esoteric techniques exposure through clubs so that students make their own opinion about it. Use my evaluation of the school to persuade prospective students to join your school.
Overall Opinion
After finding out about a lot of other institutions and meeting many graduates from different places, I have to say that WSCC is the best chiropractic school out there. I transferred to a bigger, better know school with a more "progressive", but similar curriculum. It was a very good school, but never at the level of Western States. Western States teaches you philosophy so well, that for my third part boards I relied on the knowledge I acquired at WSCC to pass them with flying colors. Philosophy in the school I would eventually graduate from was very deficient. Radiology is top notch at WSCC as well as other clinical sciences.

2 a fair review
by VGChiro
Date posted: (01/14/2014)
My Experience Overall Rating: 2

Overall: 2
Housing: 1
Pass rate for National Boards: 4
Quality and Reputation of Professors: 1
Research Department: 1
Practice Management Skills: 2
Financial Aid Department: 4
Classroom size: 2
Leadership: 2
Techniques: 1
Location: 2
Atmosphere: 2
Philosophy: 1
Cost: 1
I have finished up my time here at UWS (now the university of western states) I came here from a long line of chiros, and my dream was to be the best I could be. The very first day the vice president made a commentthat stuck with me. Auto mechanics dont learn by just getting in there and doing it, they read books and learn what to do first. As a old wrencher like myself I though to myself, man that's a bad example. But that is the philosophy of the school. Learn to 2 years of mostly useless science biased on the medical world, then a year of Clin phase with one very bitter military boot camp style teacher. Followed by 5 quarters where you struggle to get your mandatory 265 half hour visits. The whole 3 years filled out with teachers who literally will have things like "when starting your practice you need a...typewriter..." in their notes. The president made himself scarce, and even when the student body's spirit were low enough to call meeting to voice our concerns, nothing changed. This school is amazing if your into EBP and you disagree with chiropractic philosophy. You will learn how to be a doctor, you will Dx, and know how to read blood test and Dx imagines like a champ. You will take more high pressure tests then you ever dreamed was possible. You will be confident about your ability to take a Hx and you will be able to spot the zebra's (cancer, systemic Dz extreme...) Its no suprise you will have to spend hundreds of hours on your own learning how to adjust. There is one Dr. Who you can seek out and he will teach you how to adjust. But sadly he has been fighting hard to keep the administration from shutting him down...
Suggestions
As chiropractors its our job to put an end to the fighting and back biting this should be the first goal. Add technique systems which believe it or not are band from the campus and clinics. EBP is great when your not spending millions of dollars trying to find out if adjusting restrictions matters in patent out come when 1) there is no research supporting motion palpation 2) you have a D.C. adjust the people with a regional zipper style thrust... yes this is the research we do at UWS. Decrease stress levels. YES we should have stress, just not for the shear fact of making it stressful... thanks for that this bit Dr. Perherm. Listen to the students. Fire Peterson Lefebvre and Bhalero they have done enough damage. And hire a great small female adjuster to teach the small female students instead of having them learn from a 6 foot 260lb man who thinks if the head price isn't raised you will cause a stroke in your patients.
Overall Opinion
This school is a great place to be if you wanted to be an M.D. but no schools would take you (my first roommate fit this bill and she was very very happy). You will become a good diagnostisian. If you love chiropractic and have a passion for the healing art then I dont know where to go but I suggest trying else where. There is so much negativity there. I graduated not knowing why I ever started, I dont trust my Tx or even understand why I should ask people for there hard earned money. I'm the end I passed my boards, hundereds of tests, graduated with a group of people I would never trust to treat my mother. And it really is one heck of an accomplishment. I'm sure all colleges have their far share of problems. I am out of here now to learn real chiropractic. I'm as excited as ever mostly because I'm passionate about helping people. I passed you can too if this is where you chose then I wish you all the best. If not then happy hunting! I apologise for any miss spelling I'm using my phone with auto-correct.

Search
Keyword
Country
State
ZIP Code
Category

Search user reviews
Keyword

Categories
  • Chiropractic Schools USA
  • Chiropractic Schools Canada
  • Chiropractic Schools International

    Back to Planet Chiropractic
    Advertising



    Chiropractic Schools  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   FAQ  |   Sponsors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms of Use 
    Copyright © 2000 - 2012 Planet Chiropractic. All rights reserved.